Register
Results 1 to 7 of 7

sky hd box

hi justed got a second hand sky hd box from cash convertors ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    79
    Uploads
    0

    Default sky hd box

    hi justed got a second hand sky hd box from cash convertors but theres no channel 5 on and i live in the north west and itv and bbc are midlands help please

  2. #2
    Shite Link King Shady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    192.168.1.xxx
    Posts
    6,688
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 110 Times in 56 Posts
    Downloads
    44
    Uploads
    11

    Default

    you need a card for channel 5, sky do a fta card.. out of interest, how much was it?
    Fave replies from various threads

    1: What the fff is all that about??? All that crap below your reply I mean, get a life mate
    2: no info on google abt the pace sv5 rang asda they have no idea what i was talking about,
    3: Your total contribution to this forum, bordering on trolling, seems to have been a collection of snipes, one liners & asterisked expletives






  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    79
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    it was 35 i have a card will ring sky to pair card with box but before i do that bbc and itv are set to midlands need north west

  4. #4
    Shite Link King Shady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    192.168.1.xxx
    Posts
    6,688
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 110 Times in 56 Posts
    Downloads
    44
    Uploads
    11

    Default

    hmm, you realise that without sky sub, you wont be able to use sky+ dont you?
    Fave replies from various threads

    1: What the fff is all that about??? All that crap below your reply I mean, get a life mate
    2: no info on google abt the pace sv5 rang asda they have no idea what i was talking about,
    3: Your total contribution to this forum, bordering on trolling, seems to have been a collection of snipes, one liners & asterisked expletives






  5. #5
    DK Veteran andy211081's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Doncaster
    Posts
    590
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Downloads
    48
    Uploads
    2

    Default

    you may need to do a software update which should pick up your location


    SOFTWARE UPDATE.
    BEFORE you power up the unit hold down the 'BACK UP' button on the top of the unit. (Forget about the remote for now) This is the button on the box itself. Whilst pressing & holding the button power up the unit by plugging it in or switching it on from the socket. 4 little lights should light up on the front of the unit. Some say the TV displays a message but in some cases it doesn't (it didn't for me). After approx 30 secs you can release. It might look as if nothing is happening but the box is dowloading the Software Update. After approx 10 mins (sometimes longer) the lights go out & the Box goes into 'Stand-By' (Single Red Light). Leave the box for 2 mins.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    79
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    got a sky sub just want to know if i can if i can get rid of itv and bbc midlands and get bbc and itv north west

  7. #7
    DK Veteran andy211081's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Doncaster
    Posts
    590
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Downloads
    48
    Uploads
    2

    Default

    this is taken from another forum may be of use:

    DIY SkyHD INSTALL (How it's done)

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    There's been many questions (& I guess there will be after this posting) about how to go about upgrading/installing SkyHD yourself. This is my experience & I hope it will help others.

    1. Obviously you've decided HD is for you & you really want your telly to finally earn the power & expense you've fed into it for the past however many months! As an existing customer you can call up Sky anytime & ask for an upgrade. The softly spoken Scottish lady will explain to you the box will cost either 349 (it was 399) for a straight upgrade + 60 installation fee (which you must have if going via Sky) or 299 & free installation if taking out a Multiroom subscription i.e. using your old Sky+ box in another room. Multiroom subscription is currently an extra 10 a month! CURRENTLY THERE ARE NO CONCESSIONS FOR EXISTING CUSTOMERS. Don't waste your time pleading with the poor lass on the phone for a discount. Some members have threatened to quit Sky in order to invoke a customer relations discount. It might work.

    2. The only other 'cheaper' way of doing it is to buy the HD Box independently & perform the installation yourself. It might sound a daunting task, but it really is quite straight forward once you have all the neccessary instruction in one place (hence this posting). There are many online sellers that can sell you the box without contract or installation mandate. eBay is by far the cheapest. I bought mine (the current Thomson model Brand New) there for 230.

    3. Once you get it home you need to make sure you've either watched or backed up your existing planner because once you've replaced the box you will no longer be able to access the stuff on the old box unless you subscribe to Multiroom or re-pair your card with the old box at a later date. You can also copy your stuff to a VHS, DVD-R or DVD-HDD. You may choose to perform a system reset if you're planning to pass the old box on or sell it on eBay or something. But I would hold on to it just incase the new box fails some months down the line, it's always handy to be able to just swap them over, besides you'll be extremely lucky if the old Sky+ Box fetches more than 50.

    4. Shutdown your old box, wait for the Hard Disk to park & spin down before switching it off or unplugging at the mains. Carefully unplug all the cables at the rear of the old box (you may choose to leave all the cables in situ' as you can use them again on the new box). This guide is assuming you already have Sky+ so you will already have the correct LNB & cabling to the back of the Box. Carefully unscew the F-Connectors attaching the Coax to the rear of your old box. Remove the box. It doesn't matter which way round the coax cables reconnect to the new terminals each one carries the same signal.

    5. Unpack your new SkyHD box & offer it up to the space you've just made, (clean dust & dirt away first!). Slide it into place & reconnect cables at the back DO NOT POWER UP YET. Be careful not to connect the telephone line into the RJ-45 Ethernet socket by mistake, when fiddling around at the back in badly lit conditions it's easy to make that mistake! Reconnect the Coax, you may choose to use long nosed pliers to tighten the connection but usually finger tight will suffice.

    6. This is the important part. This is the SOFTWARE UPDATE.
    BEFORE you power up the unit hold down the 'BACK UP' button on the top of the unit. (Forget about the remote for now) This is the button on the box itself. Whilst pressing & holding the button power up the unit by plugging it in or switching it on from the socket. 4 little lights should light up on the front of the unit. Some say the TV displays a message but in some cases it doesn't (it didn't for me). After approx 30 secs you can release. It might look as if nothing is happening but the box is dowloading the Software Update. After approx 10 mins (sometimes longer) the lights go out & the Box goes into 'Stand-By' (Single Red Light). Leave the box for 2 mins.

    7. If you have an HD Ready TV then ensure the HDMI cable is connected. You may also choose to connect in the conventional way via SCART just incase your TV needs its HDMI input to be enabled. Some TV's come out the factory wih the Digital connection disabled. At this point remove your viewing card from the old box & place it in your new box. (It doesn't go into the intercative card slot) You'll need to 'flip down' the cover on the righthand side you will see a slot for your card in there.

    8. Take your box out of stand-by. You should see the Sky+/HD demo screen. If not try scrolling through your input options & double checking your connections. If you can see the screen you are now ready for the tricky bit!

    9. Put the new batteries in the Remote Control & press:

    SERVICES=>
    4, 0, 1, Then hit select (you have to type these in quick succession, this will take you to the technicians menu).

    Scroll down to INSTALLER SETUP=> SELECT
    Scroll down to NEW INSTALLATION=> SELECT

    This will initiate a scan for the channels available.
    This takes approx 30 secs.

    You'll get a screen(s) saying channel line up or channel ok &/or screen showing you satellite signal strength. click ok, or select continue after 2 or 3 continues the callback process begins. Ensuring your box is connected to the phone line the details of your box will be sent to Sky.
    If the Callback FAILS (as mine did!) don't worry it could be something to do with the viewing card not being valid in that box or a problem at Sky's end.

    10. Pairing your card to the new box.
    In order for you to see your subscription channels or use the Sky+ facility you will need to tell Sky you have a new box. You will notice some FTA channels are working & Indeed BBC HD should be on as well. But on your subscription channels it's telling you to upgrade... This is what you need to do:

    Call: 08702404040

    Option 2 (for Sky HD)
    Option 2 (for Sky HD activation)

    DO NOT input your home telephone number, it will ask you twice to do so, just ignore it! Everytime I input my number the system hung up on me! Leaving it puts you through to an operative. Explain you want to pair your existing card with the new box. They will ask for the Version Number of the software & the serial number of the Box (have your remote to hand as they will guide you through this process). By the end of the conversation the Sky agent should've explained how much extra you will be charged. SkyHD subscription is 10 on top of what your existing package costs. NO CONCESSIONS! They will charge you an apportionment if you are between bills then charge you in advance on your next available bill. So don't be alarmed if your bill remains unchanged for a month or so then leaps by 20 or so, this is because they charge you one month in advance. After it will settle to your usual amount + 10.
    After activating your card the signal can take anything up to 4 hours to get to your Box/Card.. It usually takes a few minutes. After which you can enjoy glorious HD.

    Remember by going this route you could make substantial savings & crucially you are not bound by a fixed contract with Sky. You don't have to remain connected to the phoneline. The downside is you're limited to whatever warranty comes with your box which is nothing to do with Sky. So if your Box develops a fault after 2 months you can either run back to the person you bought the box from or hassle the manufacturer. Sky will send out an engineer if you pay. Best checking.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •