Register
Results 1 to 9 of 9

recycle original xbox hardware in pc---help!!!!!!

hi, i need some advice on whether or not original xbox components ...

  1. #1
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    459
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
    Downloads
    76
    Uploads
    0

    Question recycle original xbox hardware in pc---help!!!!!!

    hi, i need some advice on whether or not original xbox components will work in my desktop pc?????

    the 2 components which i want to reuse are:

    xbox samsung DVD-ROM Drive Model: SDG-605
    xbox western digital ide hardrive


    also is there any other components that i could recycle and use in my pc?????????

    any advice would be much appreciated. thanks in advance

  2. #2
    V.I.P. Member cunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Shoutbox
    Posts
    5,032
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 100 Times in 68 Posts
    Downloads
    74
    Uploads
    3

    Default

    yeah the hard drive should be fine once re partitioned

    "Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot."

  3. #3
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    459
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
    Downloads
    76
    Uploads
    0

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by cunny View Post
    yeah the hard drive should be fine once re partitioned
    is there any password etc or do i just plug and play the hard drive? also this would be my second hard drive in the computer, would i need to make one of the hard drive "slave" or something?

    bit confused, hope you can help

  4. #4
    DK Veteran andy1weir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    between glasgow and edinburgh
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    youd have to set the hard drive with your os to a master drive then set the xbox hard drive as a slave

  5. #5
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    459
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
    Downloads
    76
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andy1weir View Post
    youd have to set the hard drive with your os to a master drive then set the xbox hard drive as a slave
    how do i do that?

    just found out how to do it, thanks,


    one more thing can i reuse the dvd drive as well?????????????
    Last edited by kaisar1; 31st January, 2010 at 06:59 PM. Reason: found answer

  6. #6
    Top Poster snagga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    60
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Look here [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvvM2Ao4Jpk]YouTube - Install a Second IDE Hard Drive[/ame]

  7. #7
    DK Veteran andy1weir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    between glasgow and edinburgh
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    just the same procedure mate, set the xbox dvd drive to a slave and the one you already have in it to master and all should be ok

    the drives in xbox's (as far as im aware) are just standard dvd-rom drives, i know for a fact that you can use a drive from your pc into the xbox so should work vice versa

    good luck

  8. #8
    V.I.P. Member chroma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Just outside of Glasgow
    Posts
    2,044
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    25

    Default

    The only difference between xbox dvd drives and commercial pc drives is the power connector.

    If i remember rightly the xbox has a rectangular feed instead of a standard molex, to get around this you would need to figure the pinouts and patch the connector inside the xbox to a female molex plug to allow it to get power.
    He who laughs last thinks slowest.

  9. #9
    DK Veteran andy1weir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    between glasgow and edinburgh
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    oooh thanks for the info chroma i though they were all the same

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •