Register
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Using Frodo (C64 Emulator) on wii -help please

I've installed Frodo on my wii on the HomeBrew Channel. Please could ...

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0

    Default Using Frodo (C64 Emulator) on wii -help please

    I've installed Frodo on my wii on the HomeBrew Channel.

    Please could anyone point me in the right direction or give steps in how to play games on it, I've not used any kind of emulator before. I'm using USB HD Loader and haven't got a clue how to load games on Frodo. A family favourite of ours is Fire Ant, and we'd love to play it on the wii...

    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by MagicToes; 17th January, 2010 at 03:27 PM. Reason: poor spelling - sorry!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Can anyone tell me how to install Frodo on Wii?
    Maybe something is missing in my download beacause HBC cannot find it. What should the folder stucture look like? There´s no boot.dol in the Frodo folder, shouldn´t there be one?

  3. #3
    V.I.P. Member ck-ok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    nottingham
    Posts
    2,600
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 9 Times in 1 Post
    Downloads
    63
    Uploads
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MagicToes View Post
    I've installed Frodo on my wii on the HomeBrew Channel.

    Please could anyone point me in the right direction or give steps in how to play games on it, I've not used any kind of emulator before. I'm using USB HD Loader and haven't got a clue how to load games on Frodo. A family favourite of ours is Fire Ant, and we'd love to play it on the wii...

    Thanks in advance!
    read this




    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The commodor was a very popular computer in it's days and because it's was easy to program on there were a lot of games available. But how to use these games? (Searched the net for a ancient c64 manual to figure this out )

    The installing of the frodo app isn't that hard (frodo is the emulator) it works just like any other app.
    Now we need some games. The games are packed in a file called blahblah.d64. This d64 file can be placed anywhere on your communicator.

    Now start up the frodo app.
    click on prefs (cba button) and go to 1541.
    go to any of the drive boxes like for my example 'drive 8' press get file and point to the d64 file.

    Now this d64 file behaves like a disk/drive on the commodor.

    so when we return to the emulator we'll need to load the drive.
    Type:
    [code:1]
    LOAD "$",8
    [/code:1]

    8 is the drive number

    frodo should respond with something like:
    [code:1]
    Loading from 0801 (2049) to 087f
    Ready.
    [/code:1]
    now press "list"
    it will display the installed apps on the drive
    In my example it contains this line:
    [code:1]
    170 "GIANA" PRG
    [/code:1]
    now load the app by typing
    [code:1]load "giana"[/code:1]
    after the system says "ready"
    type
    [code:1]
    run
    [/code:1]
    the game will now launch.

    In order to work with the arrows in this game, you need to press "caps" first (the button on your keyboard above shift )

    I've added the emulator, the game and a screenshot of the game in stretched view.

    BTW be patient when using this
    __________________

  4. #4
    V.I.P. Member ck-ok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    nottingham
    Posts
    2,600
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 9 Times in 1 Post
    Downloads
    63
    Uploads
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Raccoon View Post
    Can anyone tell me how to install Frodo on Wii?
    Maybe something is missing in my download beacause HBC cannot find it. What should the folder stucture look like? There´s no boot.dol in the Frodo folder, shouldn´t there be one?
    try this download http://code.google.com/p/frodo-wii/ and follow the tut in previous post
    Last edited by ck-ok; 30th January, 2010 at 08:49 PM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I found another download after I posted here that included the boot.dol file so now it works. But what can beat the real stuff?
    Nothing!
    This was just for the fun of involving C64 in everything I lay my hands on.

    Tested a demo, but the emulator crashed after a minute so I better keep to the real thing.

    The Wii version of Frodo is not much alike the Amiga version.

    You must download .d64, .t64 or .prg files and put them in the folder apps/frodo/images on your SD card

    Start Frodo and press home.
    Select start and then choose the image file you like and then choose the program you want to start.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •