Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

openbox s11 totaly dead!!

my openbox is totaly dead, no power, checked the fuse in plug ...

  1. #1
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    190
    Uploads
    0

    Default openbox s11 totaly dead!!

    my openbox is totaly dead, no power, checked the fuse in plug and fuse on board looks ok , checked its getting power and seems fine, iv heard these s11 are common for just going dead with no answers? help ps it is definetly getting power as i checked it right into the board with a multimeter

  2. #2
    Top Poster Dub12Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Dublin Ireland
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Have you tried connecting the box to a pc with a null modem cable?

    Try a reflash that way see if that does the trick.

  3. #3
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    190
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dub12Dave View Post
    Have you tried connecting the box to a pc with a null modem cable?

    Try a reflash that way see if that does the trick.
    thanks but what programme do i use to flash it with, iv flashed lots of dreamboxes with null modem using dreamup? cheers

  4. #4
    Top Poster Dub12Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Dublin Ireland
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Have a look here Box says copy on front display post #14 that worked for me with an s9, STB EROM upgrade 214.75 kb don't know for sure but should also work for the s11, just be sure to use software for the s11, hope this helps you out.

  5. #5
    DK Veteran slugworth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    new england
    Posts
    1,018
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 46 Times in 37 Posts
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Post include bootloader

    Make sure you always tick include bootloader,or you end up like post #1
    I recommend loader v2.0.0c,the one with the eromclient.abs and other files.It is the version that asks for a file name right off the bat.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    did you manage tofix it? mine just died there now aswell

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    28
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    had a few of these dead but power supply ok try replacing front panel. with out the box infront of me this not much more i can say

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    same problem.. And STB not working with USB to RS232 reduction.

  9. #9
    DK Veteran slugworth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    new england
    Posts
    1,018
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 46 Times in 37 Posts
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    the only way you can fix it is with rs232

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    s11 has a problem with the spade terminal connecting to the rocker switch inside the box itself. unplug the unit remove the lid and you will probably see the brown spade has come away from the terminal.
    put the spade on a flat surface and tap it with you screw driver re position on terminal and hey presto.
    i have repaired a few of these. and the problem seems to be within the build quality of the unit itself.
    or maybe it came across on rough sea.
    hope it helps.

  11. #11
    DK Veteran deffc0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    UK/POLAND
    Posts
    870
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 22 Times in 6 Posts
    Downloads
    66
    Uploads
    2

    Default

    Looking diagram power supply for skybox S11.


  12. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    i have installed a j's list on 3 openbox s`11 and within 24 hrs they are dead would this work to fix these boxes?

  13. #13
    P&D
    P&D is offline
    DK Veteran P&D's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,228
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 383 Times in 187 Posts
    Downloads
    22
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by j4mesmac View Post
    i have installed a j's list on 3 openbox s`11 and within 24 hrs they are dead would this work to fix these boxes?
    check my post here
    how to reflash my skybox F5



  14. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    18
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    mine did same check caps on power supply one was bulging on top. replaced worked fine

  15. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    1 box was took apart and when checked no resister had blown put it back together and it worked fine - 2nd box resister had blown still to try 3rd box

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •