Register
Page 1 of 41 12345611 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 606
Like Tree64Likes

Recover Dead Skybox/Openbox Flash Using Serial RS232 Null modem Cable

A how to guide on how to fix a corrupt firmware image ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member darvash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Copenhagen Denmark
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 22 Times in 2 Posts
    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    0

    Default Recover Dead Skybox/Openbox Flash Using Serial RS232 Null modem Cable

    A how to guide on how to fix a corrupt firmware image in the OpenBox S9/S10 and Skybox S)/S10 Even if it seems bricked.

    This guide is taken from another forum so big thanks to auther.

    Box does not respond or displays On?
    If your box does not respond, or no displays light there is a good chance the current firmware on the box is somehow corrupt.

    You will need to use this tool, connect a Serial RS232 Null Modem Cable to the box and follow the instructions.
    Hopefully it will bring your box back to life.

    instructions

    Download the file:- "Upgrade_PVR800_HD_Tool.rar"
    Unzip this file & you have a folder with 5 files:-
    eromclient.abs, flashburn.ini, sdram.ini,
    LZMA.exe & eromUpgrade.exe & helpfile.txt.

    1. Connect up your PC to the Openbox
    using a null modem serial cable.
    2. Switch the box OFF
    3. Run EromUpgrade.exe then check the
    com port setting is correct
    4. Select the latest firmware .abs file. (Download her if you don't have any)
    5. Select "next" then switch ON the box
    and follow the instructions to load
    and flash burn the firmware.
    6. If the process does not start, try
    various time combinations of switching
    the box ON after selecting "next"
    7. Don't switch the power off or disconnect
    while the download & flash is taking place.

    If you cannot contact to your box check your null modem cable. Connections are like showen below

    pin 2 ...to... pin 3
    pin 3 ...to... pin 2
    pin 4 ...to... pin 6
    pin 5 ...to... pin 5
    pin 6 ...to... pin 4
    pin 7 ...to... pin 8
    pin 8 ...to... pin 7

    Important: Go into device manager (goto start-->run-->type "devmgmt.msc" )
    or right click MyComputer--->manage--->on the left side u find device manager

    and check that you are choosing the right com port. If possible use computer with serial R232 com port built on mainbord.


    Have fun
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by darvash; 4th January, 2012 at 08:03 PM.
    *****Donít argue with idiots. They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience*****

  2. The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to darvash For This Useful Post:

    + Show/Hide list of the thanked

    ak005 (4th August, 2013),alwurzel (4th July, 2013),ammo92 (3rd November, 2013),Arnather (8th June, 2013),frankbeer (19th April, 2013),Gokhle (24th June, 2013),grim89 (26th July, 2013),jimmy230 (11th April, 2013),jimmynewbie (5th July, 2013),Lucky1966 (21st April, 2013),Mysteriousguy (23rd August, 2013),rick2021 (8th April, 2014),rrodclos (29th June, 2013),tunnaing52 (5th January, 2014),TurboPirate (28th January, 2014),utdman (19th August, 2013),vekas15 (8th November, 2013)

  3. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    my openbox s10 cant boot! only show the ON on the display...this guide work 4 me?

  4. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default constant reboot issues openbox s11

    I have the constant reboot issues too on an s11 box.

    Have tried removing the dish cable, but each time I go into the menu and try to getting to system setting, the box reboots.

    Am now trying to flash using a null model cable, but it's stuck at 99%.

    Any advice anyone?

    Thanks in advance.

  5. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    it says synchronising stb

    please reset target

    so do i still try to press next and on and off the openbox?

  6. #5
    DK Veteran slugworth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    new england
    Posts
    986
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Post pdf

    Quote Originally Posted by ming930919 View Post
    it says synchronising stb

    please reset target

    so do i still try to press next and on and off the openbox?
    a pdf I found with one of the ali loaders.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    altal and billybob60 like this.

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to slugworth For This Useful Post:

    alwurzel (4th July, 2013),TurboPirate (28th January, 2014)

  8. #6
    The Stig PT mtv1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tipperary
    Posts
    5,560
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 190 Times in 135 Posts
    Downloads
    201
    Uploads
    4

    Default

    seems to be a flood of open boxes coming to the market

    1 if it works filmware wise leave it alone

    just add tp-prog file

    always check is it a clone here

    Openbox Clone Safe Firmware

  9. #7
    DK Veteran slugworth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    new england
    Posts
    986
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Exclamation fiasco

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv1 View Post
    just add tp-prog file
    That's what started the fiasco.
    When I bought mine it had a sat list for the wrong side of the earth.I tried to load a tp_prog from a forum site and it wouldn't turn on after that.Apparently it was a mismatch to the firmware that was loaded.I had to use the rs232 loader to recover and got factory firmware and tp_prog from the seller to start fresh.
    After that I don't load any foreign channel lists,no matter how lazy I feel.

  10. #8
    Top Poster Digicom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    172
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 54 Times in 22 Posts
    Downloads
    66
    Uploads
    6

    Default

    I have Openbox S9 which when powered up just displays On.
    Tried using EromUpgrade tool but it never goes any further than "Synchronising Stb please reset target".
    Even left it for 30 mins with that message but it does not go any further.
    Any help would be apprciated
    Regards

  11. #9
    V.I.P. Member southpaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    merseyside
    Posts
    2,172
    Thanks
    109
    Thanked 101 Times in 83 Posts
    Downloads
    37
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digicom View Post
    I have Openbox S9 which when powered up just displays On.
    Tried using EromUpgrade tool but it never goes any further than "Synchronising Stb please reset target".
    Even left it for 30 mins with that message but it does not go any further.
    Any help would be apprciated
    Regards

    if you try various firmwares , one should eventually connect , had same problem myself but eventually had a hit , will try find out which f/w i used if your still struggling.

  12. #10
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    liverpool
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Downloads
    188
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    hey southpaw can you remember which f/w u used still cant get mine to connect erom says set upgrade mode error tried various f/w but none will flash any advice greatful am about to give up on this s10 not getting anywhere

  13. #11
    V.I.P. Member southpaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    merseyside
    Posts
    2,172
    Thanks
    109
    Thanked 101 Times in 83 Posts
    Downloads
    37
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scottj130208 View Post
    hey southpaw can you remember which f/w u used still cant get mine to connect erom says set upgrade mode error tried various f/w but none will flash any advice greatful am about to give up on this s10 not getting anywhere
    after weeks of trying i got in touch with the manufacturer who advised me (in broken english ) that to recover try the last known working F/W you had on the box (bfore it errored) and work backwards from here , Got mine going in 3 tries using the last known working f/w ,

    this was on an S9 , but hopefully it will work for you on the s10

    good luck mate

  14. #12
    Top Poster Dub12Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Dublin Ireland
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Great news southpaw glad you finally got it sorted.

  15. #13
    Top Poster Digicom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    172
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 54 Times in 22 Posts
    Downloads
    66
    Uploads
    6

    Default

    Thanks for reply and if you could find out wat firmware worked for you as i am struggling
    regards

    Quote Originally Posted by southpaw View Post
    if you try various firmwares , one should eventually connect , had same problem myself but eventually had a hit , will try find out which f/w i used if your still struggling.
    djboxfresh likes this.

  16. #14
    V.I.P. Member southpaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    merseyside
    Posts
    2,172
    Thanks
    109
    Thanked 101 Times in 83 Posts
    Downloads
    37
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    the firmware i recovered with was 20110315
    however that was the last working f/w my box had before bricking
    just load your last known working f/w before you bricked it mate

  17. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    why i cannot...
    the massage as below
    synchonizining STBs
    please reset target!!

    pls help me
    Last edited by gmb45; 12th October, 2012 at 06:53 AM.

  18. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to miziee83 For This Useful Post:

    kaneramsden1991 (14th January, 2014),mujdat (4th January, 2014)

 

 
Page 1 of 41 12345611 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •