Register
Page 8 of 45 FirstFirst ... 34567891011121318 ... LastLast
Results 106 to 120 of 672
Like Tree113Likes

Recover Dead Skybox/Openbox Flash Using Serial RS232 Null modem Cable

i already try to this method but the message " Set stb ...

  1. #106
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    i already try to this method but the message " Set stb error.Click 'back' to try again." i think my box is already dead as it can be..

  2. #107
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    mine does the exact same, cantget past stb memory error on skybox f3

  3. #108
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Downloads
    41
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    my skybox M3 is stuck on L100 on the display & no picture on the tv I have a null modem cable any ideas how I bring it back to life?
    Tried Upgrade pvr800 hd tool with captains bigger log.abs but get SET STB Memory Error when trying to flash?
    Last edited by beats2006; 20th September, 2012 at 01:48 PM.

  4. #109
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    slugworth,can the hardware be fix?

  5. #110
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Yeahman this in my question too...

    How can the hardware problem be fixed (is it possible ?) ?

    Thanks for your help.

  6. #111
    DK Veteran slugworth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    new england
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 44 Times in 36 Posts
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    unless it's just a bad power supply,there isn't any user serviceable parts.To verify a bad power supply you would have to measure all the voltages.

  7. #112
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I think it can't be fix anymore,i already send the box to the shop to check the power supply unit.they said the power supply is working and mention maybe the board is bad.look like have to buy a new one huh..

  8. #113
    DK Veteran slugworth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    new england
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 44 Times in 36 Posts
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    sell it for parts
    people buy them for the power supply and other goodies

  9. #114
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Downloads
    41
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eziorec View Post
    I've a new skybox m3 died (only red light when powered and no remote controls' effects...)

    Tryng to refresh firmware by rs232 null and erom upgrade 2.0.0c 2009-05-22...
    FW: SKYBOX_F3_M3_wifi_3601HD_CMT_1209040733.abs

    Set stb memory error

    I think COM1 settings are ok... I've tried several possibilities...

    Can I try something else or sendig back the box to the seller is better ?

    Thanks, byes,
    Ezio
    Ok I was having the same problem and just fixed it finally after a lot of trial and error heres what I did -

    downloaded http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums...de_8mflash.rar

    then downloaded some older firmware -
    SKYBOX_3601hd_CMT_120820071a.abs
    (if you search google you will find it)

    Then I plugged the box in and attached the null modem cable,
    opened up the erom upgrade folder and ran CONFIG.BAT
    then ran EROMUPGRADE

    Selected the firmware I downloded
    Ticked Include Bootloader
    Clicked next
    when it says-
    synchonizing stb
    Reset target

    I unplug and replug the power cable out of the back of the box quite fast it will then let you carry on and recover the box

    once recovered you can update to a later firware via usb or the X3 Lan tool.

    hope this works for you as I was pulling my Hair out yesterday
    edrojo and MAX2504 like this.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to beats2006 For This Useful Post:

    brittar (26th November, 2013)

  11. #115
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    The problem was boot loader corrupted.
    Red light only can be boot loader problem.

    I wasn't able to refresh it because of com1 wrong configuration.
    With new swttings erom upgrade works.

    Now after powering I can see scanning on display...


  12. #116
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default needhelp

    needhelp for my s12 ....after "boot" "--"

  13. #117
    DK Veteran slugworth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    new england
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 44 Times in 36 Posts
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    load anonymousx firmware,you are stuck using that from now on.

  14. #118
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    what cable is need for rs232 on openbox m3 as i have red light error
    thanks

  15. #119
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I'm going to buy an RS232 to USB cable off eBay so I can use it on my laptop and I was wondering if this would work on a S11

    USB to Serial DB9 Pin RS232 DB25 Parallel Printer Cable GPS PDA 1M 1.2M 1.5M 2M | eBay
    MAX2504 likes this.

  16. #120
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    mine died after i was scanning new channels, nothing will come on at all at the back near the ethernet adapter the green light is on.. i have the skybox f3
    MAX2504 likes this.

 

 
Page 8 of 45 FirstFirst ... 34567891011121318 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •