Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Dreambox DM500-c Help :-(

Can anyone help me please, i bought a dm500-c box and it ...

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default Dreambox DM500-c Help :-(

    Can anyone help me please, i bought a dm500-c box and it is working but my problem is that the dealer had placed a 4 digit pin code on the box. it seems to have been flash with a PLi enigma image, i cannot access the setup option because of the pin code. I cannot use a network cable because i cant see the ip address for the box in settings. Can i use a null serial cable to get into the box by any chance or do i have to reflash it. the box came with a NTL digital smart card with NAGRAVISION printed on it, I live in the barbados located in the caribbean, will i lose my channels when flashing or when i use the smart card will i see them again? i understand the flashing procedure but i want some alternatives before i decide to flash. help me someone :-( what options do i have using the null cable considering i dont know the box ip address?

  2. #2
    V.I.P. Member cgscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    cmd
    Posts
    3,707
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 31 Times in 27 Posts
    Downloads
    152
    Uploads
    11

    Default

    FlaSh an image with the null modem cable.

    then your back to basics.




    Patience is a virtue.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    well i did the flash and i have the setup menu working but now i cant pick up anything, transponder search gets no signal. what do i do??????
    Last edited by cksamurai; 31st August, 2008 at 06:35 AM.

  4. #4
    V.I.P. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,655
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
    Downloads
    62
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    make sure your cable connection is secure and then choose bruteforce scan option.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    will try thanks 4 the tip

  6. #6
    Admin Assistant aftermath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5,105
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 118 Times in 66 Posts
    Downloads
    71
    Uploads
    9

    Default

    4 digit code, did you try "0000" or "1234" ?

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    none of those codes worked, tried every number i could think of, anway i did the flash like 4 or 5 times now using pli jade latest version, everytime i do a scan i get the message transponder did'nt find anything. which is funny because before i did the flash every thing was find, now no signal period. i use gemini to pli to the original dreambox firmware. i guess my country is nonexistant when it comes to getting the correct info. i think the key is manually setting the transponder but i cant find no info about that.

  8. #8
    Admin Assistant aftermath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5,105
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 118 Times in 66 Posts
    Downloads
    71
    Uploads
    9

    Default

    what country you in ?

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    barbados barbados

  10. #10
    V.I.P. Member Curious123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,608
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Downloads
    55
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    You need a cables.xml file for Barbados which is normally stored in the var/etc folder of your dreambox or you need to know the symbol rates for your country so that you can find the transponders.

  11. #11
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 38 Times in 26 Posts
    Downloads
    167
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    22222222222222222222222222222222
    Last edited by micromouse; 12th September, 2013 at 11:50 AM.

  12. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    cant find those 2 anywhere :-( if it anit broke dont fix it :-(

  13. #13
    V.I.P. Member Curious123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,608
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Downloads
    55
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    You might find this thread a little more helpful;

    What Image Works Best for Barbados MCTV

  14. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    ok i had a long day and a new learning experience and i learnt alot. i had no sleep since saturday night and iam exhausted. what i did was to borrow another dm500c and just backup its image and then extract it and flash it onto my box and presto, every thing was back to normal and working without the card. but i know those keys will die soon but i still have my smart card. the thing is that for my region the cable.xlm seems to be the hardest thing to ever find and from thath it has all the transponder settings. thanks to all who tried helping me, i spent all day on google and registering to so many forums, imaginge that plus flashing my dm500c like 10 times for the day trying to get it right. topic closed by my end :-)
    Last edited by cksamurai; 1st September, 2008 at 11:57 AM.

  15. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    16
    Uploads
    1

    Default

    Now you got the cable.xml, it is good to share

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •