Register
Page 1 of 9 123456 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 123

How to change COM port settings using USB-to-Serial Adapter

setting to change your com settings Start -> Control Panel -> System ...

  1. #1
    V.I.P. Member smirnoff_rules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    birmingham
    Posts
    8,342
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 222 Times in 137 Posts
    Downloads
    235
    Uploads
    16

    Default How to change COM port settings using USB-to-Serial Adapter

    setting to change your com settings

    Start -> Control Panel -> System -> Hardware -> Device Manager -> Ports (COM & LPT) -> Prolific USB to Serial Bridge… at this point, take note of the COM number. Use that number when assigning the COM port



    in your Device Manager and double click your USB to Serial adapter. Click Port Settings and then Advanced. You should then be able to select the COM port (1, 2, 3, or 4) being careful not to select a COM port already in use on your computer.

    if u only have printer and com then change the com one in the drop down box
    Last edited by smirnoff_rules; 20th April, 2008 at 05:53 PM.
    any information provided is for educational/experimental purposes only.

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Changing com-port number with some drivers with fixed com-port

    Some virtual com-port drivers seem to have a fixed com-port number. These drivers mainly use usbser.sys from Microsoft. You can change the inf-file of the device....

    [USBtoSer.AddReg] ; AddReg section
    HKR,,DevLoader,,*ntkern ;
    HKR,,NTMPDriver,,usbser.sys
    HKR,,EnumPropPages32,,"MsPorts.dll,SerialPortPropP ageProvider"

    The USBtoSer label can be different from your device. The last line is important. Please make sure that msports.dll is included in the inf file. After you have reinstalled the driver, you should be able to change the com-port number.

    Regards,
    Mark

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    13
    Uploads
    0

    Default Null modem on usb not working

    I have just bought a usb adaptor for my null modem cable as my laptop doesnt have anywhere for it to plug in but it still aint working. cant see any com ports in harware manager but a usb ser! whatever that means. So I cant flash my dreambox 500c with a new image. I am at a complete loss as how to get round this so I need some simple advice.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0

    Default USB to Serial adapter

    Hi
    I m in same boat. bought one adapter from ebay. but it didnt work out. tried evrything. later discoverd- after installing the driver for adapter andplugged in USB, windows automatically startts downloaded the driver for adapter, though I already installed one.
    so think few these adapters r dodgy, especially bought from china!! and there is no drver support.
    well still no luck. goin to fork out more few quid on good one this time.
    any progress pls keep updating

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    A lot of the cheapy USB>Serial adaptors sold on ebay use a TI chipset, and the drivers can be hard enough to find alright. I've attached the drivers I managed to find and I hope they help. They are actually for a USB>Mobile serial phone lead, but they have worked on several non-branded serial leads as they use the same chipset. Cannot hurt to try.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to jimbo69jones For This Useful Post:

    tammac26 (10th October, 2013)

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
    Downloads
    25
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Like many i bought one of these for flashing my 500C from my laptop.

    I installed the software and it automatically installed to com10. i changed from com 10 to com 2 as 2 was free but to this day i could never connect to the 500c using this cable instead wen i need to reflash i use a friends pc.

    If there is a solution to this i'd be very interested.

    Thanks

    Andyd123

  8. #7
    V.I.P. Member smirnoff_rules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    birmingham
    Posts
    8,342
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 222 Times in 137 Posts
    Downloads
    235
    Uploads
    16

    Default

    have u tried dreamup for the 600 pvr its abit better l have found and auto finds the port
    any information provided is for educational/experimental purposes only.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
    Downloads
    25
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smirnoff_rules View Post
    have u tried dreamup for the 600 pvr its abit better l have found and auto finds the port
    I can only find one version of Dreamup which seems to be universal for all models.

    Thanks for your reply

    Andyd123

    <--andyd123 added 12 Minutes and 25 Seconds later...-->

    I just downloaded the latest dreamup 1.3.3.0 and now if i connect the box via the usb to com adapter the box gives the following message then just stops and goes no further

    23:18:19 box type: DM500


    Any further ideas ?
    Last edited by andyd123; 8th June, 2008 at 11:21 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  10. #9
    DK Veteran alliv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    62
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    i had this problem with my laptop and vista.

  11. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    103
    Uploads
    0

    Default USB Null modem cable

    I have one of this usb null modem cable whick works ok with eurovox but does not detect dreambox and when i try to use this cable with dreamup laptop window vista crashes.

  12. #11
    Member Dazza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    31
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I've got one of these adapters for my lappy, but it's never worked properly.

    The drivers installed ok on XP, and I can change COM ports just fine. Dreamup seems to id everything ok, but after that, nothing works.

    Same in Ubuntu (Linux OS) It picks up the adapter just fine (no drivers needed!) but again, Dreamup seems to have issues.

    I wonder if it's more of a power issue when using the adapter...?

  13. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    18
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    i have one of the usb adapters to flash my starview 3 ..that was simple..but im lost when it comes to a dm500c...HEEELLLPP

  14. #13
    Member Dazza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    31
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrcraig View Post
    i have one of the usb adapters to flash my starview 3 ..that was simple..but im lost when it comes to a dm500c...HEEELLLPP
    See the first post in this thread, and use DeamUp.

    What's the problem exactly..?

  15. #14
    Junior Member sherlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dazza View Post
    I've got one of these adapters for my lappy, but it's never worked properly.

    The drivers installed ok on XP, and I can change COM ports just fine. Dreamup seems to id everything ok, but after that, nothing works.

    Same in Ubuntu (Linux OS) It picks up the adapter just fine (no drivers needed!) but again, Dreamup seems to have issues.

    I wonder if it's more of a power issue when using the adapter...?
    Can confirm that these adapters from ebay do not work on a laptop running vista.
    best addapter is a pcmcia to serial card works no probs 500/600/ev too,
    Just ensure it is vista compatable.

  16. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    17
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I have same problem. Did you solve it?

 

 
Page 1 of 9 123456 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •