Register
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Quick Start guide to getting Dreambox 500c up and running

In the last couple of days I've just got my first Dreambox ...

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default Quick Start guide to getting Dreambox 500c up and running

    In the last couple of days I've just got my first Dreambox 500c up and running and just wanted to share with you the guides I used. Noticed many people having the same initial issues as myself of only being able to get the freeview channels. I fixed this by getting the the latest roms and updating them in /var/scce. Anyway it's all briefly explained below. Thanks to everyone who contributed to the guides I've referenced below - they really helped me to get it up and running.


    Here's what I did - I followed this guide word for word - Digital Kaos - Downloads - Noobs guide to 500c

    I then replaced all of the files in /var/scce with the ones from here RapidShare: Easy Filehosting, and set the permission on the each file within /var/scce to 755 (basically gave each file the execute permission) - you should be able to do this by right-clicking on each file and changing file permissions should be one of the options on your FTP software (can't be any more specific than that as you could be using any one of hundreds of FTP packages.) This is the guide I followed to replace the /var/scce files, so if you need more info on that I recommend you download this - http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums...box-noobs-429/

    After replacing the files in /var/scce mine started working perfectly. Hope this helps.

  2. #2
    DK Veteran alliv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    62
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashb View Post
    In the last couple of days I've just got my first Dreambox 500c up and running and just wanted to share with you the guides I used. Noticed many people having the same initial issues as myself of only being able to get the freeview channels. I fixed this by getting the the latest roms and updating them in /var/scce. Anyway it's all briefly explained below. Thanks to everyone who contributed to the guides I've referenced below - they really helped me to get it up and running.


    Here's what I did - I followed this guide word for word - Digital Kaos - Downloads - Noobs guide to 500c

    I then replaced all of the files in /var/scce with the ones from here RapidShare: Easy Filehosting, and set the permission on the each file within /var/scce to 755 (basically gave each file the execute permission) - you should be able to do this by right-clicking on each file and changing file permissions should be one of the options on your FTP software (can't be any more specific than that as you could be using any one of hundreds of FTP packages.) This is the guide I followed to replace the /var/scce files, so if you need more info on that I recommend you download this - http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums...box-noobs-429/

    After replacing the files in /var/scce mine started working perfectly. Hope this helps.

    nice to see you got sorted. you dont say if your in ireland or uk. i say this as its a new issue in the last few days if you live in ireland and want to get a 500c up and running again.
    is it a bird?......is it a plane?.....NO ITS MY CHEAP CLONE FROM CHINA GOING OUT THE ****ING WINDOW.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Smile

    I'm in UK. I didn't know there had been any issues - like I say only just acquired dreambox this week, so it's still new territory for me.

  4. #4
    DK Veteran alliv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    62
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashb View Post
    I'm in UK. I didn't know there had been any issues - like I say only just acquired dreambox this week, so it's still new territory for me.
    yes they changed to n2 a while back and knocked out the the cable dreambox,s . but there is a fix in the last few days and some people are having probs getting sorted. thats why i wanted to clarify where you where.
    thanks and glad your sorted m8.
    is it a bird?......is it a plane?.....NO ITS MY CHEAP CLONE FROM CHINA GOING OUT THE ****ING WINDOW.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alliv View Post
    yes they changed to n2 a while back and knocked out the the cable dreambox,s . but there is a fix in the last few days and some people are having probs getting sorted. thats why i wanted to clarify where you where.
    thanks and glad your sorted m8.
    Thanks mate!

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Thanks a lot!

  7. #7
    pex
    pex is offline
    Junior Member pex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cardiff
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    19
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Dude... Thanks... I follows every guide and It still woudlnt work... it wasnt until I changed the File Permissions to 755 that it works... As everyone can see from all of my downloads ... tried on several PC's.... anyway its all up and running now.

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Thanks very much - just about to replace a dbox2 with a dreambox (clone probably) and this will help a lot!
    Hopefully it'll be more reliable than dbox!

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bertiness View Post
    Thanks very much - just about to replace a dbox2 with a dreambox (clone probably) and this will help a lot!
    Hopefully it'll be more reliable than dbox!
    No probs and good luck!

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pex View Post
    Dude... Thanks... I follows every guide and It still woudlnt work... it wasnt until I changed the File Permissions to 755 that it works... As everyone can see from all of my downloads ... tried on several PC's.... anyway its all up and running now.
    Yeah, having to change the file perms is a bit of a gotchya. Thanks.
    Last edited by ashb; 6th July, 2009 at 10:00 AM.

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quick question, i read the document but i was wondering if the FTP part is necessary?

    if i were to buy a new dreambox, would flashing the image with dream up get the box working?

    I had problems with the whole ftp process before and am looking to buy a box that i can set up myself

  12. #12
    DK Veteran on_the_jazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    564
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    121
    Uploads
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kurupt View Post
    Quick question, i read the document but i was wondering if the FTP part is necessary?

    if i were to buy a new dreambox, would flashing the image with dream up get the box working?

    I had problems with the whole ftp process before and am looking to buy a box that i can set up myself
    The only way you won't have to FTP is if you have your own complete image from somewhere. All the images on this site are FTA only so FTP is necessary to copy across the k3ys and roms.

  13. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    13
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I'm a 2 week old newbie.
    I have a 500c and have tried all of the above but still only get freebie channels. I've tried several images but am only able to pick up channels with transponders in DK v1 or v1.1.

    I have left v1.1 at the moment and copied the files to the keys and scce folders. Also tried emu 2.17 and 2.12.

    Very desperate, help needed please.

  14. #14
    DK Veteran on_the_jazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    564
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    121
    Uploads
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kammi View Post
    I'm a 2 week old newbie.
    I have a 500c and have tried all of the above but still only get freebie channels. I've tried several images but am only able to pick up channels with transponders in DK v1 or v1.1.

    I have left v1.1 at the moment and copied the files to the keys and scce folders. Also tried emu 2.17 and 2.12.

    Very desperate, help needed please.
    Try mgcamd.

  15. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    11
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Hi just joined the forum it's all good stuff, my dreambox is in the mail and obviously Im a noobie so I will give these guides my full attention and let u know how I get on.

    Thanks and wish me luck fingers crossed and all that

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •