Register
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34
Like Tree5Likes

IBM T41 T42 RS232 output trick

Hello to all member's of DK. After I need RS232 for autodiagnostic ...

  1. #1
    DK Veteran elchip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 168 Times in 46 Posts
    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    0

    Wink IBM T41 T42 RS232 output trick

    Hello to all member's of DK.
    After I need RS232 for autodiagnostic and haven't it on my IBM T42 I was look for tipe hov to output it without docking station... And I was spend a lot time tofind schematic diagram of T41 , T42 Apolo 9 mainboard ( Apolo 9 is code name for MB on T41 and T42 ).

    Here is what you need :

    For all who need COM1 on IBM T41 and T42 it can be put out from Mainboard of laptop.
    Look for MAX3243C on MB. It is RS232 transceiver located on MB but it's I/O are
    only on dock station connector ( 245 pin HUH...).
    I was success output direct from MAX3243C COM1 with cable and work 100%.
    U need good solder and time and magnifier too ;-)

    Here are PDF files of MAX3243C and laptop schematic of RS232 COM1.
    ALso you need to enable COM1 in BIOS setup.
    The chip MAX3243C is located on MB bottom on memory socket inside laptop.
    You must remove keyboard and inside memory module.
    Better disasemble MB of laptop ( if you have time and know to do that...).

    IBM T41 T42 RS232 transceiver sch.pdf

    MAX3243C datasheet.pdf

    ibm t41 t42 rs232 part 1.jpg

    ibm t41 t42 rs232 part 2.jpg

    If you find is good for you please push THANKS .
    Sorry for my bad English.

    Best regards to all on DK
    Last edited by elchip; 14th August, 2010 at 03:36 PM.

  2. The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to elchip For This Useful Post:

    Bazil_mb (8th December, 2013),frasenci (14th October, 2013),hani93 (7th May, 2013),ker0sin (18th September, 2014),obetbalguest (17th May, 2013),robika (7th December, 2013),welaegea (8th July, 2013),wice (24th June, 2013),yasser (8th September, 2014)

  3. #2
    GDB
    GDB is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default BIOS settings Dell D620 or D830

    I know there are some Dell D620 with Mercedes Stardiagnosis for sell. I have installed Stardiagnosis on my Dell D830. It has a RS232 com port but I cant't get it to work. Is there anybody here maybe that knows the right port setting that need to be done in the Bios ?
    Any help is more than welcome

  4. #3
    DK Veteran wiseman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    941
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
    Downloads
    24
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I have an IBM x41 but have docking station, very interesting read
    AVDI/FVDI FULL WITH LAPTOP FOR SALE. PM FOR DETAILS

  5. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Downloads
    4
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Hi, Elchip !
    Is the same MAX chip on the X31 tablet's motherboard ?
    I can't find it's schematic. Thanks in advance.

  6. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wiseman View Post
    I have an IBM x41 but have docking station, very interesting read
    X41/X41 Tablet has the RS232 chip in the Ultrabase, not in the laptop like T4x series.

    BTW, elchip do you have a photo of the finished soldering on the MAX3243 chip?

  7. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Hello i've got MIOZ3 GPS module and I was searching everywhere for thinkpad pinouts to make internal GPS over COM port.

    Good job, thank you.

  8. #7
    Junior Member vionet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    France, Paris
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0

    Default rs323

    Quote Originally Posted by Raceboy View Post
    X41/X41 Tablet has the RS232 chip in the Ultrabase, not in the laptop like T4x series.

    BTW, elchip do you have a photo of the finished soldering on the MAX3243 chip?
    Hi, it's working in my laptop.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    elchip: thank you very much, good job.

  10. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    What Is the battery life with docking station?

  11. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    elchip: thank you very much

  12. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Nice hack
    thanks

    i will try it this week
    i need it for car diagnostic
    AUTOCRAFTS likes this.

  13. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    i need for cardiagnostic too
    but i cant understand on what pin i have to solder wires of rs232 connector and on chip ,can anuone help me? sorry on bad english

  14. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Burnaby Canada
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    pinouts.serial.jpgt43p serial1.jpgtest.jpg
    As the pic shows, there are a bunch of solder pads next to the MAX3243.
    This is a pic of a T43P.
    The centre hand made drawing is the pinout between the com connector and the solder pads.
    [3]TXD is pin 11 of MAX3243
    [8]CTS is pin 6 of MAX
    [7]RTS is pin 10 of MAX
    [2]RXD is pin 8 of MAX
    Last edited by malch; 13th March, 2014 at 01:42 AM.

  15. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Hello
    Really good idea!

    I've question to whose who ha done the following upgrade.
    Have you routed all 9 wires? Or only couple of them?

    Thanks.

  16. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Burnaby Canada
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    serial2.JPGimg003.jpg

    Here is all 8 plus a ground. It would be difficult to route a 9 connector shielded cable inside a T43.
    Seems a few have used TX, RX, and ground. I havent tried this mod.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •