Register
Results 1 to 8 of 8

usb to serial converter

hi, anyone know of a usb to serial converter thats works with ...

  1. #1
    Top Poster kenmonu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    135
    Uploads
    0

    Default usb to serial converter

    hi, anyone know of a usb to serial converter thats works with no problems

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    V.I.P. Member Jaffa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Norn Iron
    Posts
    1,682
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    35
    Uploads
    20

    Default

    I think Kaos has one ordered so we should know when he gets it if he recommends it.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    find FTDI chip type cable.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I got mine from a compnay called.... manhattan, I think. Worked without probs so far!

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Newegg

    Check www.newegg.com this is the only place I buy any of my tech stuff from. I bought my USB to serial converter here, it was $10 or so, in USD.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    84
    Uploads
    0

    Default USB Serial cable

    I purchased one from Maplins and never has any issues, works with DBOX2, PDA etc.

    Hint, If you use the same USB port, you can be sure of the COM port number.

    Al.

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Technomate 6900

    I have the TM 6900, How do I view French channels on TPS?
    Thanks

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    45
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    The Maplin's one is quite stable; the only thing I recommend is changing the default COM port within the range of COM1-COM4 depending on what is available. Ive found some apps dont talk to it on higher COM ports.

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •