Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

can you get freesat with a normal satellite receiver

I was wondering, I've got an 80cm dish and a technomate TM-9100, ...

  1. #1
    Administrator Devilfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    /cdk
    Posts
    9,972
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 311 Times in 95 Posts
    Downloads
    278
    Uploads
    112

    Default can you get freesat with a normal satellite receiver

    I was wondering, I've got an 80cm dish and a technomate TM-9100, can I get the freesat channels or do I need a special receiver and card to get them?

    cheers
    Get Digital Kaos on your Apple or Android device with Tapatalk

  2. #2
    thommo
    Guest

    Default

    well from what ive read you need there box/card or so they say, it,ll prob have some encryption but it,ll be weak so should be usable to use at some point and as its freeview there shouldnt be a need to have there box or card so nothing illegal either when its made available to the masses from what i can see. there kind of forcing you to buy there boxes at the min which isnt right imo.

    today infact ive just got itv hd going on my technomate 6900 box which isnt one of there receivers so if this early hd owners can get itv hd id say the lot will be available at some point.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Freesat is basically the EPG, the channels are the same FTA channels no encryption, a selectied list of the FTA channels that you get on a standard SlyBox!

    I bought myself a Freesat Humax Foxsat HD (Impulse Buy, wanted to watch FA Cup in HD) Plugged it straight into Old SlyDish Scanned n it was up n running!

    The Humax unlike the other FreeSat Boxes also has a non freesat mode and will pickup all the FTA channels fine just not freesat EPG!

    If I were more patient n saved a few quid I would have gone for the Dream 800 out of preference and would get all that freesat had to offer n more I'm sure.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default Freesat and pc sat cards

    Well i've got Skystar2 on my pc is there a plugins or watching soft to get epg for freesat? The itv hd works fine

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    The EPG may be possible...

    Freesat EIT in MythTV

    Seems like the clever guys at MythTV have already released patches to use the Freesat EPG. The diff here contains the patches: h**p://svn.mythtv.org/trac/attachmen...sat_epg.2.diff. I'm sure it will take a while before its mature, but from the mailing list it seems to be working:
    h**p://www.gossamer-threads.com/list...reesat;#335097
    h**p://www.gossamer-threads.com/list...reesat;#335360

    The compression used turned out to be Huffman coding. I like the way the guy figured out (most of) the Huffman tables, by comparing the uncompressed Freeview data with the compressed Freesat data. Big congrats to David Matthews and the MythTV team for some inspired work.

    Theres now nothing stopping other software/receivers using the Freesat EPG data.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    intresting must be worth a look

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    93
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    66
    Uploads
    0

    Default Freesat Card?

    I've been looking at the new Freesat Boxes on the internet, and can't see a card slot as mentioned.

    If they do need one later you might as well get sky with all the give aways that they can do to get your custom.

    Remember that to watch HD you also need an HD tv as well as a HD sat box.
    Unless you can afford the new combo.

    Frank

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    humax 2000 could be a good option

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    48
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    hi,normal fta receivers are selling like hotcakes at present ,mostly technomate
    3000 series,no real interest in hd or epg,i believe sky sales would plummet if RTE went free too,

  10. #10
    Member pothead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    with the new equipment there testing in ireland all us replay/starview owners will be looking for another way to watch tv so this could be the way to go

  11. #11
    DK Veteran DESSERTDOG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    500
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    25
    Uploads
    4

    Default can you get freesat with a normal satellite receiver

    I have the Humax foxstat HD Receiver and an old sky dish and lnb and it picks up all the freesat channels np plus more on a non freesat scan.HD is great just a pitty there are not more channels but im sure they will come in time.

  12. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    41
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frankharrison View Post
    I've been looking at the new Freesat Boxes on the internet, and can't see a card slot as mentioned.

    Freesat will never be encrypted,the business model is for free to air only,so no need for a card slot. You choose your region for the EPG so that you get your local ITV & BBC channels.

  13. #13
    Retired Sat TV Addict .: JaCkPoT :.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    var/tuxbox/plugins
    Posts
    5,809
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
    Downloads
    49
    Uploads
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fekker View Post
    Freesat will never be encrypted,the business model is for free to air only,so no need for a card slot. You choose your region for the EPG so that you get your local ITV & BBC channels.
    Why not use a old sky box. It is better than freesat. With a card it allows you to watch setanta news and a few other channels yet to be introduced to freesat.

    Read the Rules here; they apply to EveryOne.


    __________________________________________________


    DM800s HD
    Openbox S10
    TM500
    DM500s

    90cm FortecStar dish
    Technomate 2300 motor powered by UsalS


  14. #14
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Downloads
    134
    Uploads
    5

    Default

    hi
    in Sadiq999uk post
    Why not use a old sky box. It is better than freesat. With a card it allows you to watch setanta news and a few other channels yet to be introduced to freesat.
    is this the card with the yellow house on (i will have a look at the weekend)
    have 3 old sky boxes working at caravan (works better than freeview)
    thanks

  15. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default Freesat with normal satellite box

    This freesat I take it, is not full high definition, I was led to believe that there are currently no proper 1080p transmissions in this country. Therefore if it is not proper HD.. I would think you could receive it through a normal satellite receiver... or can you .. I know this doesnt really answer your question, but at least i've said my bit...

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •