Register
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Openmedia 500cs & dm500c...

hey peeps, i just sold my starview 2 the box, and im ...

  1. #1
    DK Veteran saj1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,085
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts
    Downloads
    67
    Uploads
    0

    Default Openmedia 500cs & dm500c...

    hey peeps,
    i just sold my starview 2 the box,
    and im after a new box
    im thinking about getting a dm500c,
    but then i heard about the openmedia 500cs,
    which doesnt cost a lot more,
    and has 2 scart sockets and a sat/cable tuner,
    anyways i just wanted to know your opinions/experiences with this box??
    you peeps think i shuld go for it?
    or should i just stick with a dm500c???

    i also wanted to know what the epg on the open media 500cs is like?
    i ask because sv2 the box epg was rubbish

    p.s im interested in this box more for cable but in the future would like to get into the sat side

  2. #2
    V.I.P. Member Curious123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,604
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Downloads
    55
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    The openmedia box is a dreambox clone but it comes with two tuners. If you are more interested in cable than sat than I would be inclined to just buy a dm500c. The EPG is pretty basic and usually only extends to 24 hours unless you are using the Pli image than you could possibly have up to 14 days.

  3. #3
    V.I.P. Member father ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3,655
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Downloads
    131
    Uploads
    2

    Default

    i have one of the first and am really impressed with it,it all depends what image you have as curious says on it and this time i have dk 1.1 on the cable side and nabilo imag on the sat side and max on here is really good and nice to talk to at thsi moment im trying to get vlc to stream to mine not manged it yet but am a newbie with vlc

  4. #4
    DK Veteran saj1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,085
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts
    Downloads
    67
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    thanks for your replies peeps,
    the pli image is that a back up image and does it work on cable?
    in regards to cable images,
    which ones are the best for this openmedia 500cs box?
    appreciate your help peeps,
    thanks!
    Last edited by saj1985; 14th December, 2008 at 10:26 PM.

  5. #5
    V.I.P. Member Curious123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,604
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Downloads
    55
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    If you are dreambox noob than you are better off with dk1.1 image on your openmedia box as you will get all the help and support you need to get your box working. If you decide not to go for the openmedia box and just go for the dm500c than you are still better off with the dk1.1 image purely for the support.

  6. #6
    DK Veteran saj1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,085
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts
    Downloads
    67
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    well i've gone for the openmedia 500cs, just ordered it from max!

    curious, i'm going to put the dk1.1 image on it,
    thanks for your advice

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •