Register
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default How to read EDC15 eeprom with CH340 cable

I am trying to read EEPROM on my EDC15 skoda octavia (intermittent immo no start / shutoff after some 2 sec). I only have "blue cheap" cable currently, I installed some CH341 drivers I found on this forum.

Tried a lot of software,

1. VAG eeprom programmer cannot read anything, says ECU not found or Rx timeout
    2. VAG K+CAN commander 2.5 is not able to connect just times out... setting is on K-Line communication and ports are set up properly in ini file
    3. https://github.com/gmenounos/kw1281test can ReadIdent and DumpEdc15Eeprom but the data is garbage

I need to immo off so it doesn't leave me stranded ever again. I studied a lot, I think I can handle the eeprom patching, I just can't read it

Is it possible at all with my cable? OS is Windows 7 in VirtualBox (I can handle that part without issues, incl. usb filters and other stuff). Host OS is linux but it doesn't matter as the cable communicates but nothing at all works with it. So I don't suspect the problem is in the "virtual machine" mode of running (I don't have any other laptop, just my primary one).

Thank you very much for any further info, it is greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by vilo999; 25th December, 2023 at 09:07 PM.

DK Veteran

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    231 Posts

Try it with this SW. It is on KKL cable.
    Attached Files Attached Files

DK Veteran

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    100 Posts

hi so as to read eeprom on this ecu you must get out ecu of the car, open it for boot mode and make connection for bench mode then you should able make a reading of this ecu

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Hi,