Register
Page 1 of 7 123456 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 102
  1. #1
    DK Veteran rsibiza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Lightbulb Updating Atmega162 VCDS and other interfaces

    Hi Guys.

    Here i wanna continue something i allready started one time,and hope it will be alive some more time.

    Explaining how to update,upgrade a VCDS interface,or other tools using Atmega162.

    What should you know about the atmega162?

    It may possible that reading flash an eprom from it is locked by FUSES...so if your atmega is locked by LOCKFUSE...only an external paralel programmer can reset this FUSE by High Voltage Paralel Programming (HVPP)...you should unsolder atmega162 from PCB before doing HVPP,because normally your atmega and components runs 3-5 volt...HVPP uses 12-13,5 V to programm and can damage components on PCB.

    Here 2 different Interfaces,which i used to erase/reset FUSES
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to rsibiza For This Useful Post:

    Col19 (2nd February, 2021), Lenon (18th October, 2020), mexanico1971 (4th May, 2014), shadow100 (21st September, 2020)

  3. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    very good tutorial

  4. #3
    DK Veteran rsibiza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Lightbulb

    Wiring up the Atmega.

    Simpliest way to flash atmega is ISP programming,you can use ISP6 or ISP10 pinheader interfaces.

    I use normally the USBASP Programmer from:

    USBASP AVR Programmer - $16.00

    it has ISP10 connector...

    For correct connection,you need on atmega
    MOSI pin1 on atmega pin1 on USBASP
    MISO pin2............... pin9
    VCC pin6................. pin2
    GND pin16 .............. pin4
    RESET pin4.............. pin5
    SCK pin3 ................ pin7

    If you try read or write atmega162 off PCB,you will need add an 7,2 mhz clock between Pin 14-15,XTAL1 and XTAL2...without clock you will be unable to connect to atmega...

    You can also choose other clock rating(1MHZ) but atmega wont work properly inside vcds interface...as it is connected to 7,2...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by rsibiza; 17th October, 2010 at 02:20 PM.

  5. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to rsibiza For This Useful Post:

    Atish (16th January, 2014), Col19 (2nd February, 2021), ecufix (15th April, 2020), mantyyzz (5th November, 2022), pekelan (23rd May, 2020)

  6. #4
    DK Veteran rsibiza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Lightbulb USBASP Programmer used with Khazama

    In the attached Word document,you can check how to use Khazama,to write flash and eprom to atmega162 for use in VCDS interface.

    If you connect correct,and atmega is recognised correct and you have trouble writing it,uncheck in write options all cases,and do step by step by yourself.



    Set Fuses and Lockbits....write Fuses and Lockbits
    Load eprom data,write eprom data
    Load flash data,write Flash data
    Verify Flash
    Verify Eprom

    To be sure always start by Command: read chipsignature

    If you cant read:

    Maybee SPIEN FUSE is not set,can be done only by HVPP
    You missed correct wiring up
    Offboard need to add Clock to XTAL1
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to rsibiza For This Useful Post:

    Col19 (2nd February, 2021), ecufix (15th April, 2020), hbalazs (25th May, 2020), pekelan (23rd May, 2020), shadow100 (21st September, 2020)

  8. #5
    DK Veteran rsibiza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Default TQFP44 to DIP

    Here a pic of a TQFP44 to DIP and ISP6 ISP10

    I bought it from Virtual Village...but was crap.
    Needet to cut 5 tracks and change way by wires to do correct switch from TQFP to DIP and be able programming on paralell programmer.

    On HVPP and External paralell Programmer no need for clock to XTAL1
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rsibiza For This Useful Post:

    Col19 (2nd February, 2021), line44 (20th January, 2021), shadow100 (21st September, 2020)

  10. #6
    DK Veteran rsibiza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Default Writing Atmega162 using Extremeburner

    I really apreciate Khazama to write Atmega162,but sometimes on different atmega...khazama fails...on board..in this case i often use the extremeburner...which clearly can be used with same programmer as explained some posts before...unplug USBASP replug open extremeburner and try again...as explained in attach.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rsibiza For This Useful Post:

    Col19 (2nd February, 2021), shadow100 (21st September, 2020)

  12. #7
    DK Veteran nany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    algeria
    Posts
    531
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    11
    Thanked in
    9 Posts

    Default

    hello, is it possible to update the china vcds with this methode

  13. #8
    DK Veteran rsibiza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by nany View Post
    hello, is it possible to update the china vcds with this methode

    Yes. The original one makes update only by USB,after installing new updated vcds.
    Last edited by rsibiza; 17th October, 2010 at 06:40 PM.

  14. #9
    Top Poster
    jarripote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    57
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    Very good!!, thank you very much

  15. #10
    DK Veteran rsibiza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Wink DB25 Programming Cable for Atmega

    This "interface" can be built by everybody himself at Home,and be used on old PC with Paralell Port(DB25) together with Ponyprog software.

    Ponyprog is freeware.

    But i prefer USB Programmers


    When you have no connection,try decrementing resistors until 0... The resistors are not for protecting Atmega....they are there for protecting Paralell Port...so check all wires if everything fine before powering up.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by rsibiza; 19th October, 2010 at 12:44 PM.

  16. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rsibiza For This Useful Post:

    Col19 (2nd February, 2021), ecufix (15th April, 2020)

  17. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    RO
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rsibiza View Post

    What should you know about the atmega162?

    It may possible that reading flash an eprom from it is locked by FUSES...so if your atmega is locked by LOCKFUSE...only an external paralel programmer can reset this FUSE by High Voltage Paralel Programming (HVPP)...
    This process might ruin the content of flash and eeprom also, right?
    Tell me I'm wrong, please!

  18. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Good!!, thank you

  19. #13
    DK Veteran rsibiza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by potel View Post
    This process might ruin the content of flash and eeprom also, right?
    Tell me I'm wrong, please!

    On External Paralell programmer,you normally can enable SPIEN Fuse without destroying flash and eeprom content,if LOCKFUSES are not set.

    If LOCKFUSES are set,you need first erase entire memory in flash and eprom before enabling SPIEN is possible.

    But depending on programmer,checked FUSE can be enabled or disabled...you need check the bit...

  20. #14
    DK Veteran zoro1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bulgaria,Sofia,Vidin
    Posts
    530
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    93
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    420
    Thanked in
    51 Posts

    Default

    If the lock are present yоu mast erase flash and eeprom.Is the *.hex file for the Atmega available?
    Last edited by zoro1; 30th October, 2010 at 07:27 PM.

  21. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    RO
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rsibiza View Post
    ...depending on programmer,checked FUSE can be enabled or disabled...you need check the bit...
    Can you please 'elaborate' a bit on it? That might be VERY interesting (and not at all offtopic).
    Have you particularly managed to program fuses (e.g. EESAV) on a locked atmega without destroying content of eeprom area? Could be possible?
    Thank you.

 

 
Page 1 of 7 123456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.