Register
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    83
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Downloads
    39
    Uploads
    0

    Default Can quality of splitter make a difference

    Hi, just had virgin 200mb fitted but getting about 60mb, I put a splitter on straight away for zgemma and wonder if different splitters can effect quality

  2. #2
    V.I.P. Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13,257
    Thanks
    434
    Thanked 680 Times in 548 Posts
    Downloads
    50
    Uploads
    6

    Default

    cable splitter to use tratec 5-1000mhz one

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cactikid For This Useful Post:

    accies (15th April, 2017),isotonic_uk (13th June, 2017)

  4. #3
    Member Technophobic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Up North
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cactikid View Post
    cable splitter to use tratec 5-1000mhz one
    You know the plastic caps they come with over the connectors, they work great at covering spare connectors on a multiple LNB.

  5. #4
    DK Veteran Kalipo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Reichstag, Berlin
    Posts
    1,612
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 264 Times in 212 Posts
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Splitters?

    If your signal is perfect fors 200mb.. +15db and you decide to split the signal for a free box then yes the splitter will effect..

    You need to either buy a low loss spliter or break in cabinet and move cable up a tap or 2..

    The latter is illegal btw so dont bother
    ich bin stolz ein deutscher zu sein.

    Meathead Lufter Verein - iScheitern


  6. #5
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,686
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Downloads
    35
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kalipo View Post
    Splitters?

    If your signal is perfect fors 200mb.. +15db and you decide to split the signal for a free box then yes the splitter will effect..

    You need to either buy a low loss spliter or break in cabinet and move cable up a tap or 2..

    cable up a tap or 2
    Do you know the numbers? is higher number faster. I think i saw 24db and 28db options the cable is only finger tight on The box in my street and it's aways open

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I have a Zgemma and have issues mainly with HD channels also but I noticed my signal strength is low (stays at 29). A friend of mine was saying I should call Virgin to see if they can send a boost over the line? Has anyone else tried this? Also another option I been provided is getting a booster for Virgin. Something like this:

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/28dB-Cabl....8AAOSw-K9ZN1yM

    Anyone who is technical with these boxes, could this help? Thanks

  8. #7
    Mr. DK DJ
    maca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    liverpool
    Posts
    7,702
    Thanks
    480
    Thanked 1,134 Times in 625 Posts
    Downloads
    97
    Uploads
    0

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maca View Post
    I think there are 2 models a 18db and 28db one, I am thinking the higher number must offer a better signal right?

  10. #9
    Mr. DK DJ
    maca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    liverpool
    Posts
    7,702
    Thanks
    480
    Thanked 1,134 Times in 625 Posts
    Downloads
    97
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Tbh i have never needed one but higher you go the better i presume .

  11. #10
    V.I.P. Member
    happy_highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,568
    Thanks
    359
    Thanked 738 Times in 411 Posts
    Downloads
    57
    Uploads
    78

    Default

    Sounds silly but I'm sure too high a signal is just as bad as to low a signal which is (I think) the reason they put attenuators on the back of the vm tv receiver. In saying that though I'd go for the higher booster then add an attenuator to the back of the zgemma if required

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to happy_highlander For This Useful Post:

    Hadron (15th June, 2017)

  13. #11
    V.I.P. Member
    Hadron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    E. London
    Posts
    2,088
    Thanks
    533
    Thanked 627 Times in 462 Posts
    Downloads
    87
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by happy_highlander View Post
    Sounds silly but I'm sure too high a signal is just as bad as to low a signal which is (I think) the reason they put attenuators on the back of the vm tv receiver. In saying that though I'd go for the higher booster then add an attenuator to the back of the zgemma if required

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
    Yep. It is possible to overload a receiver with too much signal. The effects are similar to having not enough signal.

    The front end of the receiver gets overloaded & the signal indicators start to actually go down as the signal gets higher. This has happened to a few members on here & other forums who believed they needed a booster, when they actually needed an attenuator.

    The booster linked to earlier has a variable control, so the best thing to do is to start with it turned right down & gradually increase it untill you get a good picture. If it gets worse as yoiu turn the gain up, then you may need to try an attenuator instead.

  14. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Hadron For This Useful Post:

    happy_highlander (15th June, 2017),maca (15th June, 2017)

  15. #12
    Mr. DK DJ
    maca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    liverpool
    Posts
    7,702
    Thanks
    480
    Thanked 1,134 Times in 625 Posts
    Downloads
    97
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    You learn something new every day

  16. #13
    Top Poster +
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Downloads
    20
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    im getting same problem using a 3 way splitter only channel effected is sly sports 2hd signal levels keep moving up and down from 85% to 79% then starts freezing i put a 6db attenuator on made sifnal stable for a bit then its doing the same thing again.

  17. #14
    V.I.P. Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13,257
    Thanks
    434
    Thanked 680 Times in 548 Posts
    Downloads
    50
    Uploads
    6

    Default

    [QUOTE=isotonic_uk;3052982]I have a Zgemma and have issues mainly with HD channels also but I noticed my signal strength is low (stays at 29). A friend of mine was saying I should call Virgin to see if they can send a boost over the line? Has anyone else tried this? Also another option I been provided is getting a booster for Virgin. Something like this:

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/28dB-Cabl....8AAOSw-K9ZN1yM

    Anyone who is technical with these boxes, could this help? Thanks[/QUOTE

    what your seeing is a bug 29% and not a true reading

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to cactikid For This Useful Post:

    isotonic_uk (18th July, 2017)

  19. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Thanks yeh, I installed an OpenATV image 6.0 and the 29% issue disappeared. Thanks

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •