Guide: Flash and Backup an Image via Telnet
Register
Page 1 of 9 123456 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 123
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Devilfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    /cdk
    Posts
    7,844
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    71
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2,546
    Thanked in
    203 Posts

    Default Guide: Flash and Backup an Image via Telnet

    Telnet Commands

    To flash an image using Telnet

    This method will only work with a .img image file.
    • Rename the image file to backup.img
    • FTP the image file to the /tmp folder on the dreambox
    • Telnet to your box and paste the following command:
    Code:
    cd /tmp && eraseall /dev/mtd/3 && cp backup.img /dev/mtd/3 && reboot


    To telnet, click START > RUN and type Telnet ip.address.of.dreambox
    A command window will appear, enter username root and password dreambox.

    To backup an image using Telnet
    • Telnet to the box and paste the following command:
    Code:
    cat /dev/mtd/3 > /tmp/backup.img
    • FTP to the box and navigate to the /tmp
    • Here you will find the backup.img file.
    Last edited by Devilfish; 26th March, 2008 at 10:31 PM.
    Get Digital Kaos on your Apple or Android device with Tapatalk

  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Devilfish For This Useful Post:

    pirsquared8 (24th December, 2013), snee (10th October, 2013), yahia1908 (30th March, 2020)

  3. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    i did the following: click START > RUN and type Telnet ip.address.of.dreambox. But nothing happens!!

  4. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Wish I checked out this forum sooner. ould have saved myself a lot of frustration

  5. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Now I get it.
    Put .exe after telnet, eg telnet.exe

  6. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default R.I.P. Dreambox

    Guys, Help.

    Just done the following:

    Dowloaded the DW 2.0 image
    Renamed to backup.img
    Placed in tmp folder

    Then followed the instructions below.


    Telnet to your box and paste the following command:
    Code:
    cd /tmp && eraseall /dev/mtd/3 && cp backup.img /dev/mtd/3 && reboot




    My dreambox has now gone from terminally ill to deceased.

    Powered up and nothing, no menu, graphic, not even a flicker. Just a very troubling black screen. I have now lost the connection to my laptop also.

    Crap, my mate won't be pleased. Although it's his own fault for randomly pushing buttons after the NTL blackout.

  7. #6
    thommo
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mpmaho2 View Post
    Guys, Help.

    Just done the following:

    Dowloaded the DW 2.0 image
    Renamed to backup.img
    Placed in tmp folder

    Then followed the instructions below.


    Telnet to your box and paste the following command:
    Code:
    cd /tmp && eraseall /dev/mtd/3 && cp backup.img /dev/mtd/3 && reboot




    My dreambox has now gone from terminally ill to deceased.

    Powered up and nothing, no menu, graphic, not even a flicker. Just a very troubling black screen. I have now lost the connection to my laptop also.

    Crap, my mate won't be pleased. Although it's his own fault for randomly pushing buttons after the NTL blackout.
    you may have created more problems than solved m8, if its a bad flash you,ll need a null modem cable and dreamup software to rescue the box.

    it will flash a new image to the box safely, i always use the null lead to send images to mine, it takes longer but is safer and you can rescue it if it goes tits up.

    hopefully you already have a null modem cable at home, if so plug it in your pc and box and use dreamup software to send the image to the box.

    for people who are not into telnet and fxp it is the easiest way to go.

    start software select com port1 click connect, plug box in(power) then flash image, simple no going wrong but it takes a bit longer than the other ways.

  8. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It's not quite a paper weight just yet then?
    Better nip out to PC world then. Local PC shop doesn't have the right cable, or informed staff for that matter. They asked "what's a null modem cable?"

  9. #8
    V.I.P. Member allycoops's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Behind Enemy Lines
    Posts
    1,075
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    9
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    96
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    maplins will be cheaper.

    wait till one of the guys say this is the correct one before buying

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...0cable&doy=9m4
    Last edited by allycoops; 9th April, 2008 at 03:22 PM.

  10. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just checked my pc. I don't have a 9 pin serial port. Will this 25 pin male to 9 pin female do the job?

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...=97737&doy=9m4

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Devilfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    /cdk
    Posts
    7,844
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    71
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2,546
    Thanked in
    203 Posts

    Default

    I'm not 100% sure if that 25 pin - 9pin will work, never tried it before.

    You will need to find an old PC or laptop with a com port or you can get a USB to Serial adapter.

    Remember that you need to have an established connection between your dreambox and PC before telnet will connect.

    You do not need to put .exe at the end. If it doesn't do anything, the connection between the PC and dreambox isn't right, i.e. you're not using a crossover ethernet cable (not the same as a standard ethernet cable) or your IP addresses are not correct.
    Get Digital Kaos on your Apple or Android device with Tapatalk

  12. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Cheers Dude

    I bit the bullet yesterday and drove through rush hour to get to Maplins. Worth the trip. A vast array of null modem cables clearly labelled, and just inside the door of the shop. Had been to PC world earlier.....useless.
    Anyway flashed the DW 2.0 image with ease at the first attempt. So much easier than the ethernet method. Wish I hopped in the car sooner. All is rosey in the dreambox garden again, not that my mate will even understand the torture I went through to undo his random button bashing.

    Now I just need the new keys for Dublin. Will have a look around the forum for updates.

    Cheers for your help dude.

  13. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    you could always make you own null modem cable or " impovose one " by hacking whatever cables you already have in the house


  14. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default .

    Is this the same for the DB 500c?

  15. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    @fcuk i flash my db 500 c with my old dbox2 null modem cable so yes mates

  16. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the guide Kaos. Saved me having to drag out the old PC with a serial port to flash my friends box with some bastardised version of Enigma on it.

 

 
Page 1 of 9 123456 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.