Satellite on the pc
Register
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Satellite on the pc

noob here, i was thinking about getting satellite tv on my pc, whith the something like the TerraTec Cinergy S2 PCI HD, but i don't know which program to use to emu CAM/smart card.
    Cheers Raneth

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Program

I used to use progdvb but never really got into the card side of things

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

I have gone down the satellite on PC route in the past, and to be honest i cannot see any benefits for it...I had a Skystar HD PCI card, and it used so many resources it slowed my PC down to a crawl....Also if you intent to do c/s you will need to leave your pc on all the time. I suggest you get a decent video capture PCI card and a good Satellite STB. Then you can use the STB for c/s by leaving it on, and then watch the STB through your video capture card on your PC. You can also send a 75ohm coax over to your TV and get a picture on that as well.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Mac & Terratec S7

Had a HTPC which passed:
    -2 video cards Hercules 9800SE..way to hot for HTPC
    and some 6600XT card...much better but noisier.
    -2 sat-cards..internal once sucked big time..never worked.
    Then I got the FireDTV-S. That one worked most of the times
    but Vista is unusable for any HTPC. Those Redmund guys don't
    know how to scedule CPU usages. So on a 2.4GHz, 2Gb HTPC
    you could only watch TV when all else wast turned off.