PDA

View Full Version : My thoughts... (and perhaps something useful)

rdenis
17th August, 2010, 08:13 PM
I will apologize in advance for the length of this post. (Also, not sure if this is the right forum for this so please move it if need be.)

I am a Chartered Accountant by trade but my hobbies are widely varied from crunching numbers. I love logic and problem solving in many contexts and as such, topics involing logic and problem solving have always interested me. In High School, I was a science nut - I started University as an Engineering Major (Robotics) but made a life changing decision after the first year.

Like many I stumbled onto DK via a Google search for automotive related topics - specifically I had been trying to learn as much as I can about the next generation in car vehicle communication networks (still can't get that Engineer side out of me). I joined about three weeks ago as a requirement to view certain topics/sections. I did post a very short hello in the introductions thread more so out of obligation than a real want to "introduce" myself.

Since the shutdown/timeout/cleansing/etc., I have gone through a myriad of thoughts and emotions. At first, I was like "no big deal, I'll wait until they sort it out." Also, I was a bit non-chalant about the whole issue as I thought, well I am new here and I haven't really become attached to the site so big deal. I posted a few of what I would characterize as "post counters", not really participating, but more so "going through the motions" and killing time waiting for the issues to sort themselves out. As days went by, some of the thoughts and comments posted by Devilfish, Drakov, amongst other veterans here started to resonate differently with me. I started to question why was I bothering to "go through the motions"? What was I really trying to accomplish? It started me on a journey of self reflection that has been oddly satisfying in ways I could never have imagined.