PDA

View Full Version : HELP please, Accessing the files!

ronb62
15th April, 2008, 09:56 PM
Hi, complete newbie so be gentle please. My son-in-law's Nokia dbox has stopped working he has asked me to "look at it" I can connect to it with FTP progs and transfer files from it but it won't allow me to write any back to any folder. I get :-[15/04/2008 21:49:22] Connecting FTP data socket... 192.168.0.4:43105...
[15/04/2008 21:49:22] 553 Could not create file.
ERROR:> [15/04/2008 21:49:22] Access denied.
There does not seem to be any file system control using the DBOX remote. There is a folder called TUXBOX which is the program i think !!! i need to access to set write permissions to allow me transfer files onto the box but I can see no way of starting this from the dbox menu. YWEB interface is flaky it stops working after a couple of selections using explorer. How do I get it to accept files??? using FTP Many thanks in advance . Ron

Devilfish
15th April, 2008, 10:20 PM
That fact that you can ftp from it is a good thing. If it won't allow you to transfer any files TO the box then the image has locked and it is read-only.

You will need to flash the image again.

You can get a 1x image here (http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums/downloads.php?do=file&id=103) and a 2x image here (http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums/downloads.php?do=file&id=102).

If it's a nokia then it will be a 2x image you'll need. If it's a Sagem, then it could be either a 2x or 1x box, maybe you're son-in-law will know. This means it either has 1 flash chip (1x) or 2 flash chips (2x). You can remove the cover or peer through the vents to see how many it's got. It should say Intel Flash or AMD on the flash chips.

Once you've got the image you need, FTP the .img file to the /tmp folder on the box. This should still be writable.

Using the remote...do the following...

DBOX
SERVICE MENU
SOFTWARE UPDATE
EXPERT FUNCTIONS
WRITE ONE PARTITION
FLASH WITHOUT BOOTLOADER