PDA

View Full Version : Need help.

animal666
16th April, 2008, 08:35 PM
I am very sorry to ask but i am completely new to this stuff. I bought my dreambox 500C 2 months ago and it worked fine. Was promised that it would be re-flashed for free if anything went wrong.

Now th chap wants ?25 per box. Obviosly i am a bit peeved off.

What i have got is a null modem cable. Can some one please tell me if this cable is enough or if i need an Cross over Ethernet Cable, and if so, what size cable.

Can someone also tell me what program i am supposed to install as everything i read seems to be flying over my head.

I will seriously appreciate any help and apologise if i have caused any offense but submitting this topic.

Many thanks you good people.

C64
16th April, 2008, 08:48 PM
You sound like you might have been on other forums and been eaten alive mate! :)

We're very 'newbie' friendly on this forum, so we welcome your questions.

You can fix the box with the null modem cable if you download DREAMUP and the new updated version of DW2.0, this will get your machine auto-updating again, you can then do a manual channel scan to get all your channels back onto the box.

I recommend that you purchase a network cable (cross-over if you do not have a router installed), this'll allow you to make smaller changes to your machine, and will infact allow you to fix it WITHOUT needing the serial (null modem) and going through the entire reflash process.

The length of the network cable is not important.

If you just want to fix your box then buy a network cable and download Flash FXP

If you want to fix your box without having to buy anything then download Dreamup and then download a new image, then scan for channels - as you can probably tell, your much better off just buying the network cable! :)

animal666
16th April, 2008, 08:55 PM
Thank you very much witchy for the reply. finally i get some sense into this thick skull of mine.

will try it all out.

once again, thanks very much.