PDA

View Full Version : Newbie help please

keith300
5th November, 2010, 11:34 AM
Hi Guys

Well i am new to the Satellite side of the site, I had a dream box for a while on cable so i am hoping that everyone can be as helpful with this as they are with the dreambox.

My old man has brought a labgear kit from screwfix a while ago (model is 28213r)

He has mounted it to the house and ran the cable.

The box appears to be getting a signal (it reads between 65 and 75% signal)

I have worked my way through the menu and manual to be able to do a scan after selecting transponders from the boxes menu but no channels are ever found.

I am wondering why we are not getting any channels.

Is the transpoder list out of date so is scanning the wrong things?

Is the dish in the wrong place? (why would we get a seemingly good signal)

Like i said completly new to this satellite thing but would be good to get it going.

shame i can not reprogram the software on the box like my old dream box

thanks in advance guys

notluckyuk
5th November, 2010, 12:12 PM
daft question, What sat did he tune it into. Maplins do the cheap beeper sat finder metre for ?6, some STB's show 70% even when no sat is locked on. just checked its an FTA stb so 28.2 it should be on..

dick b
5th November, 2010, 12:58 PM
if the signal you are refering to is SNR(signal strength) forget it and watch the quality bar (AGC) which should be in the 70/80s for 28.2/5 the astra 2s and eurobird,I"m assuming these are the sats your after.
If this is so and you seem to know what your doing set the box to the 28.2E sat and 10.773H 22000 BBC 1 london.then you will have to move the dish L/R and up/down til you tune it in.I dont know these outfits but once tuned in you may have to fine tune the lnb by twisting it anticlockwise when looking from behind the dish.if you start off by pointing the dish in the same direction as the local Sky dishes it will give a starting point.

Manic01
5th November, 2010, 01:08 PM