PDA

View Full Version : New to Tuning

djorgensen
8th December, 2010, 04:36 PM
I've been doing IMMO, kiey cutting etc and General car eletrics for a few years and recently thought about trying out from Tuning.

I have an MPPS and I've been able to download a map from one of my cars, a VW Transporter T5 1.9 TDI

WinOLS to be blunt looks very complicated, not a problem with learning but where does one start?

I got ECM2001 running and I've loaded the dump into it.
What should I be doing or trying to do to get a modest performance increase?

Damien

scargo
8th December, 2010, 05:33 PM
Hi

I am also new to tuning, and find WINOls very complicated, is there any other user friendly applications that we can use?

djorgensen
8th December, 2010, 07:40 PM
ECM2001 seems the best route, in terms of getting the job done in an easy to understand way.

Scargo, send me a PVT MSG and I'll send you a link

Where I seem to have hit a problem is that you need a driver for each type of each which appears to split the dump into the seperate maps for things like Turbo Pressure.

Does anyone have a how to guide or similar for creating drivers in ECM2001?

ominimicu
8th December, 2010, 08:36 PM
ECm uses drivers...some of them are not very good..and does not identify all the maps.

Win Ols is a little difficult to use, but requires A LOT of time in front of the PC, tutorials the the HElp idex of the software itself.

del635
14th December, 2010, 01:49 PM
My advice is to stick with winols, ecm doesnt even give real values, its for percentage tuning rubbish.
When youve learnt to 'define' maps and tables in winols have a look at how the manufacturer gets more power, how much they inject and WHEN, what they ask from turbo etc eg look at 90hp-110hp-130-150 vw files and 90-110bhp pug/cit hdi files. Also look at what mufactures do to reduce nox emissions ;)

rsibiza
14th December, 2010, 06:03 PM
My advice is to stick with winols, ecm doesnt even give real values, its for percentage tuning rubbish.