PDA

View Full Version : UPA advise

aaronfirth
27th January, 2011, 04:07 PM
Guys just bought a erlasoft usb upa. Need help and advise. Im not complete novice been chipping cars for years obd, BDM and solder jobs.
Reading upa help manual struggling knowing the pin outs on the chip the 9 pins of the upa no prob but when i want to read say a ST95160 how do i marry the pins up?
Really an advise or direction would be welcome (looked on youtube but no videos)
Or even better if any one has 5 mins on the phone brilliant, I run a large car garage with a ton of dealer level software and always happy to help people out.
Thanks
Aaron 07771 912700

lupu_sandu
27th January, 2011, 05:33 PM
M8, always desolder eeprom's (not MCU) from board and read in adapter (made by yourself or buy on ebay)
Look here:
UPA-USB Adapter (http://www.ecuvonix.com/adapter-type-upausb-p-308.html)

dashradio
27th January, 2011, 08:13 PM
Hi, here are the adaptors that I use, they are quite expensive but they do allow you to read eeproms in circuit without removing, works 100% here is a link to eBay but it will expire soon, so if you need it after it has expired PM me, UPA USB Programmer - Dongle And Lead Connector Set on eBay (end time 11-Feb-11 12:33:06 GMT) (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/UPA-USB-Programmer-Dongle-And-Lead-Connector-Set-/180611814440?pt=UK_AudioElectronicsVideo_Video_Tel evisionSetTopBoxes&hash=item2a0d4d9428)

aaronfirth
28th January, 2011, 01:38 PM
People who make UPA very kindly sent me some links to chip data sheets I found helpful yesterday managed to cross over the pins even though ST label slightly different
ie S=CS Q=DO W=WP C=CLK D=DI
I think please correct me if wrong.
UPA software looks nice cant be that big a deal to fill in the gaps on the software to save us the time can it?

aaronfirth
28th January, 2011, 01:41 PM