PDA

View Full Version : Best Sat-BoX for avarage Joe...

orky87
31st January, 2011, 10:36 PM
I recently bought a new TV, now to enjoy it a little more I have decided to get a sat-box. Paying for a TV license is one thing but to watch regular TV stuff and paying for it is something I cant get my head around.
Anyway I am not expecting premium channels by choosing to go this way nor am I considering to card-share at any time soon. Simply want to spend my money wise for this set up to last a few years.

I have no experience with receivers or dishes so this is where I hope to get your suggestions and/or recommendations.

Is motorized worth going for, also what about those kite looking (rectangular) shaped dishes, good? bad? waste of money? I see that dishes vary in sizes, what size is safe to buy considering a day of bad weather?

Need you any more info from me don't hesitate to ask...

Thanks in advanced.

daithi
31st January, 2011, 10:58 PM
id buy a dreambox and use it for the free channels
and if ya ever decide to card share ya can use it

i wouldn bother with a motor if i wasnt card sharing

and yal pick up a sky dish for free if ya look around
this can be used with a dreambox for recieving the free to air channels on 28.2

cheap dreambox customs might catch ya for a few extra quid http://www.dealextreme.com/p/dvb-s-standalone-digital-satellite-receiver-with-lan-port-rs232-yprpb-cvbs-spdif-50771

and a dish http://cgi.ebay.ie/Sky-Dish-Includes-Quad-LNB-Zone-2-/320647573227?pt=UK_ConEle_SatCableFreeview_RL&hash=item4aa815aeeb

andy91
31st January, 2011, 11:02 PM
Get a Dreaambox 800hd if you can spare the extra cash over the Dreambox 500 which is a great box but only sd is the difference but if you have bundles i would have the Vu duo twin tuner.

Andy,

orky87
1st February, 2011, 03:28 PM
Thanks for the suggestions, while dreambox offers everything I could want it's price tag is a bit steep for my liking at leas for the moment.