PDA

View Full Version : "Playing" with eprom programming

i_shot_the_sheriff
25th February, 2011, 07:35 AM
Dear DKians, :D

I'm an automotive engineer! Lately i've started "playing" with all this eprom and programming stuff!!
I've literally learnt all the stuff i know from DIGITAL KAOS and i have to thank you very very much for that!!!!!

The problem is i still can't find a complete guide or something for this whole thing!

I mean... i dunno even what this sooo famous "CHECKSUM" is. Or i have no idea of what is going on with the memory adresses when we read an eprom or a microcontroller!
Also... what about the editing of the bins i read???? How can i change the mileage by myself? Or how do people know in what memory adress does the immobilizer is stored :sheep:

I've searched the forum but i couldn't find a clear answer to many questions! Is there a tutorial or something that can make these questions clear to me? Or much better.. is there a tutorial or something for automotive applications?

I know it's a tiring thread... but i guess many noobs would like this thread if it's answered!! :D :D :D

With respect,
p0z3r

kop
25th February, 2011, 10:00 AM
I would be very intereated in this.

oldford
25th February, 2011, 12:34 PM
Have a look here for checksums: Checksum - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Checksum)

i_shot_the_sheriff
25th February, 2011, 12:49 PM
So by finding the Checksum of a binary i will be able to see if i have any mistakes after i edit it? It's like a diagnostic procedure or something?

oldford
25th February, 2011, 05:08 PM
After editing you have to correct the checksum. If it's not correct there will be a Diagnostic code set like P0601 and the car may not even start anymore.

i_shot_the_sheriff
25th February, 2011, 05:12 PM
Really???? I didn't even know that!!!!
So how do i do this? I reset the checksum as it was the first time? Is there a software or something that can do this?

1000tc
26th February, 2011, 03:35 PM