PDA

View Full Version : Boot error

rex89
27th March, 2011, 08:50 AM
Hi, I restored the image of my pc norton ghost on one computer copy of it is finished but on reboot I have this error at boot Disuqi Drive:
Not a directory
boot not found
Can not open
Stage 1 boot failure: error loading hd (40) / boot
Thanks for your help
Best Regards

Messa
27th March, 2011, 11:57 AM
Hi, I restored the image of my pc norton ghost on one computer copy of it is finished but on reboot I have this error at boot Disuqi Drive:
Not a directory
boot not found
Can not open
Stage 1 boot failure: error loading hd (40) / boot
Thanks for your help
Best Regards

Are you installing on a partition >2TB ?

rex89
27th March, 2011, 05:22 PM
No is a partition of 80 gb

Sirus
28th March, 2011, 12:29 AM
I'm no partitioning expert, but I have installed ubuntu a few times and I know that you have to assign a /boot for the system... So try putting in the linux cd and going to the drive partitioning part, then assign that 80gb partition as /boot

InF3sted
13th April, 2011, 09:52 AM
U need to install boot loader again GRUB,when u try to restore partitions from image it will not work just like that on linux :)

ceylan68
20th August, 2011, 01:22 AM
where kan i find bootloader 67 ?
thanks

s0lid
5th December, 2011, 06:20 PM
you just need to install grub. It should be on your MBR what flavor of linux are you using?

rex89
17th March, 2012, 06:52 AM
Hi, after all this time I never managed to fix this error, I do not understand it, if every time we can explain as clearly, this could help me.
Best regards

jeff114
17th March, 2012, 09:30 AM
Hello,
which distro do you use?

pickledfrog
18th March, 2012, 06:30 PM
Need more information to help work out the problem:
how many partition on the hard drive is it only the one,
which OS are you trying to boot, Windows or Linux,
is the drive marked as active to load the first drive or do you have a bootloader i.e. Grub

Egren71
19th March, 2012, 08:45 PM