PDA

View Full Version : Benz W203 transmission shift problem

Poptest
16th April, 2011, 08:00 PM
Please, I need your advice.

Transmission shift of my Benz W203 C200 is erratic. It is often normal; but sometimes it won't shift, and sometimes it goes to neutral while driving.

I know it is in good function when I move the selector lever to - or + and the gear indicator shows a change in gear. If the gear indicator stays on " D ", I know I have a shift problem.

I'm a diesel mechanic, and don't have much experience with Benz. But I can play around with this car as it is mine. Pease help me.

Qrius
17th April, 2011, 01:32 AM
Does this W203 have automatic gearbox or SEMI-Automatic ?

If it's a Semi-Automatic , it could be the hydraulic pump or it's expansion resevoir.

Poptest
17th April, 2011, 07:35 AM
Does this W203 have automatic gearbox or SEMI-Automatic ?

If it's a Semi-Automatic , it could be the hydraulic pump or it's expansion resevoir.

It's automatic but can downshift or upshift. While on drive, pulling the lever to the left makes a downshift, and to the right is upshift.

mercis
17th April, 2011, 08:32 AM
722,6 gear?

Poptest
17th April, 2011, 12:08 PM
722,6 gear?

I don't know the transmission model Mercis. It has 5 gears forward.

I also noticed that the gear position indicator lamp is sometimes normal, and a bit dark when the transmission is not in good function.

mercis
17th April, 2011, 01:34 PM
you cant select + -
egs on emergency mode,erron on system
read ecu and delete errorcode and drive and new diagnostic

Poptest
17th April, 2011, 02:26 PM
you cant select + -

I am able to select +/- most of the time. So I think this is a loose connection on the wires. But sometimes I cannot select. This happens only for a short time, then it is back to normal again. Fault occurs approximately 1 or 2 times in one hour.

Thank you mercis.

Poptest
17th April, 2011, 02:34 PM
you cant select + -

What does egs mean?