PDA

View Full Version : total noob to sat setup....need some pointers

freck
15th December, 2008, 09:30 PM
OK guys I've been reading up on the various dishs boxes and lnb setups you guys have running..nice work.
I'm into cable but I'm not too keen on getting up on the roof to install a dish and config to all the different sat directions.
I however have a sky dish up there which was installed when I moved in and have the cable running to my house.
I like the dreambox and know the ins and outs of them,ftping flashing and all that because I've fiddled around with them for ages.
But with a 500s box and the sky dish on the roof what if anything can I pick up with the right image.
A motorised setup would be more of an advantage but i just want to get the feel of thing before i go deeper into the sat scene with the dish I have facing the sky satellite which is hotbird...I think.
Any advice gladly received re images or whatever.
Thanks,
Freck

mickfromcork
16th December, 2008, 01:15 AM
Since the fall of Premiere to nagravision 3, in October/november a lot of people have moved to Thor at .8W, which has some very good channels, I'm a newbie myself, and I've managed to track this sat, its definitely got as many english speaking channels as astra 19.2 or hotbird 13E, the at can b a bit of a bollox to find, but defintely worth it.

Curious123
16th December, 2008, 03:21 PM
With a S*y dish and a dm500S you really won't get a flavour of what it like to have a sat setup. In fact I would say its probably worse than having a S*y box connected to your dish. You would need to move the angle of your dish to get something worthwhile on your dreambox.

alunfennell
16th December, 2008, 04:50 PM