PDA

View Full Version : div x file playback

leethal
16th December, 2008, 12:26 AM
Hi

Can anyone tell me how i go about transferring a file (film etc) from my PC to my cube revo?
And then how i go about watching it?

many thanks

aftermath
16th December, 2008, 12:32 AM
ftp the divx/xvid file to mnt/hdd/media
or
mnt/hdd/media/divx

to play

exit
multimedia
video player

there is bugs sometimes, with the sound out of sinc , or maybe a panic or 2. But the quality is superb.

leethal
16th December, 2008, 12:47 AM
this is where i come unstuck--what does ftp mean? i am a beginner to all this!
i have managed to get all my cable channels working though!!

aftermath
16th December, 2008, 01:01 AM
ftp stands for "file transfer protocol"
you can download a programme from here in downloads called FlashFXP
you got a wireless router or a direct connection ?
wireless router is best option, just link a crossover cable between the box and router, or a direct connection between PC and box.

In flash FXP.

start a new session

enter the ip address of the box ( you can change this in advanced settings from remote control on your box ). Make it within 5 from your router or PC

example

router = 192.168.1.1
pc = 192.168.1.2
box = 192.168.1.3

username = root
password = relook , unless you got Cli image where password = ipbox

hope this helps.

leethal
16th December, 2008, 01:10 AM
many thanks i shall have a go at that!

i have a wireless router!

leethal
16th December, 2008, 01:25 AM
hi sorry for asking stupid questions!
i am presuming that i need a crossover cable if i have not got one?

also how do i find out the ip address of my router and pc?

aftermath
16th December, 2008, 01:33 AM
the easiest way is to download dreambox control centre from here ( DCC )

set it to ping all devices , tell it you got a router.
username = root
password = relook

it will take a few mins and will come back with IP address of your
router
PC
IPbox