PDA

View Full Version : Advice on sat receiver

dann-E
16th December, 2008, 12:22 PM
hi, I'm new to sat tv, I have a humax HDR freesat, but would like to be more adventurous and get more channel, i'm going to buy a Penta 85 dish and a motor, but I haven't decided what sat receiver to use, your help would be appreciated

Pittsey
16th December, 2008, 01:28 PM
Not much choice at the moment.

There isn't much on Emu. DigiTv is about it. If you buy a Diablo Cam your choices of free channels double. If you want more you are going to need to investigate Linux receivers and card sharing.

dann-E
16th December, 2008, 01:37 PM
Thanks for your prompt reply, I don't no a thing about Linux receivers or card sharing, so is it worth getting a motorized dish, I thought there was a load of FTA channels out there, do you connect a linux receiver up to your pc, as I say I don't know much about it.

.: JaCkPoT :.
16th December, 2008, 04:54 PM
buy a tm 5400 for simplicity it has a cam reader with a couple of card readers......
OR....
a dreambox 500s clone[make sure you dont put gemini on it] and cardshare

dann-E
16th December, 2008, 05:05 PM
I'm bidding now on ebay for a Technomate 5400, Its at ?44 at the moment three hours to go,

16th December, 2008, 05:31 PM
tell me how you get on.... dont go over ?85.. max 90....or there is no point.....

dann-E
16th December, 2008, 05:35 PM
I'll let you know, thanks for your help

dann-E
16th December, 2008, 08:44 PM
Hi, well I didnt get that one, just a few mins to go and some sly pig sneaked
a bid in :bawling: whats the difference between the 5400 usb and 5400 super?

16th December, 2008, 09:13 PM
the super has usb ports at the back, and a slightly more sensitive tuner..i also allows you to record scrambled channels[channels you can watch]

Curious123
16th December, 2008, 10:08 PM
Not much choice at the moment.