PDA

View Full Version : How to stream

srathod
23rd April, 2008, 03:02 AM
How do i stream my PC with my dream box ? I've tried using VLC but i can't seem to get it to work. It will show screen shots but won't stream.

Devilfish
23rd April, 2008, 03:05 AM
If you enter the ip address of your dreambox into your web browser, you will get the web interface. (username:root, password:dreambox)

Click on the WEB-X-TV link at the top left and it will play whatever channel is on the dreambox.

bash
24th April, 2008, 01:11 AM
i am sorry i am new to this streaming stuff, but does that mean if my pc is connected to dream box via ethernet then i can view movies that i have downloaded from pc on my dreambox?

Devilfish
24th April, 2008, 01:39 AM
Yes, that's correct.

Although the dreambox will only decode MPEG format. So if the movie is in avi/divx/xvid, like most are these days, it will need to be converted to MPEG first.

Or you can use VLC to transcode the file 'on the fly' as it's being streamed to the dreambox. The convert to MPEG would probably be less hassle.

BlueJ
24th April, 2008, 10:25 AM
If you are using a Gemini image you can use the VLC Frontend Plugin.
This allows you to specify a particular folder on your PC containing your movies )avi, wmv, mov etc) and access and play them from the Dreambox remote.

I use it and I think it's fantastic. I'm not sure if it will work on images other than Gemini though. Perhaps someone else will know?

bash
24th April, 2008, 06:20 PM
i am interested in this and i have managed to ftp to my box, is there a guide on how to stream movies from pc to dreambox?

BlueJ
24th April, 2008, 07:11 PM
Hi,

Like I said if you are using Gemini then the VLC Frontend is your best option.

Here is a link to a guide on how to set it up:

http://wiki.videolan.org/How_to_DBox

Like I said earlier I don't know if this will work on images other than Gemini. If your image is Enigma based it should do in theory.