PDA

View Full Version : beginners guide to android

Lainie
10th July, 2011, 12:40 AM
putting this in here. can anyone do a stick for us newbies to android. ive not long had my htc deisre s with android but i dont really know what android is all about and what these apps can do etc.

beginners guide would be fab if anyone can help.

happy_highlander
10th July, 2011, 02:50 PM
putting this in here. can anyone do a stick for us newbies to android. ive not long had my htc deisre s with android but i dont really know what android is all about and what these apps can do etc.

beginners guide would be fab if anyone can help.
I'll have a stab at answering this for you. My answers will be very basic as I am very new to this myself and android itself is still in it's infancy.
I'm sure there will be plenty I will miss.

An app is a program.

Android is a linux based operating system that is open source meaning unlike apple the source codes for development are available for anyone to use resulting in more people developing free apps. Android systems also allow all apps to access the operating system at the same time (multitasking) which in short means if you add a widget to your home screen e.g twitter or facebook you can automatically receive any notifications in the background without having to open the app or being disturbed during a phone call with the result that instead of having a load of shorcuts to apps all over the place you just have functional widgets that when you get used to it can lead to all your most common apps being used without you even having to open the app drawer and go looking for them. So the difference between an app and a widget is a widget can stream live content direct to your home page i.e weather or facebook and an app is just a program that may or may not use the internet, so a widget is always running but an app needs to be clicked to be opened or closed. Just to confuse matters a widget is always an app but an app is not a widget.:hmmmm: