PDA

View Full Version : Sharing of printer

mukhtiar
5th December, 2011, 12:57 PM
Dear folks I need help in sharing my MFC240C USB printer to be share between my desktop having windows7 and my laptop that also has windows7.

I am new in this please explain in easy way
Thanks

s0lid
5th December, 2011, 06:47 PM
the best way to share it is through a network hub/switch. Im assuming you have a wireless router buy yourself a "usb to ethernet" device. From there they have instruction how to do it.

Egren71
7th December, 2011, 01:56 AM
Assuming you have no network connections on you printer, and looking at the specs it doesn't appear to have any. And assuming you only want you use the Computer that the printer is attached to as a print server and the laptop as a client here is how you could do it.
On the PC with printer attached, i am assuming the desktop PC you need to click on Start then on Devices and Printers.
Then in the window that opens Double left click on your printer so that your printers window opens.
In the window that opens Double left click on Customise your printer then on the properties page that pops up Left click on Sharing tab at top of properties page.
On the Sharing properties page Left click on Change Sharing Options then Left click on tick box to the left of Share this printer so that a tick appears in it.
While here you can if you want Either put a share name in the box where it says share name or leave it as the default Brother MFC-240C.
Then Left click on OK at bottom of page. You can close any windows that you have opened on this PC as the printer should now be shared.

If you know what the name of your computer with the printer attached is you can open a command prompt and type in " \\the computer name\the printer share name " and that should install a networked version on the printer on this computer.

If you don't know the name then:-

On the PC without printer, i am assuming the laptop you need to click on Start then on Computer.