PDA

View Full Version : MAC

steppenwolf
22nd December, 2011, 08:24 PM
I didn't knew that we have apple sub forum...

Need someone who knows them.
I got Mac from a friend and I have never used it before. When I turn it on it just show a small icon blinking. Maybe something is wrong with OS.

I googled a little and found the image... Looks like this

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/b/bb/Apple_PowerMac_G4_M8493_QuickSilver_front.jpg/300px-Apple_PowerMac_G4_M8493_QuickSilver_front.jpg

I suppose it is older one but can I do something with it?
Does it have BIOS?
Which one and how to install the OS?

Thanks in advance!

dell_xps
22nd December, 2011, 08:28 PM
Do you hear the hard drive kicking in when booting it up ?
If not it will probably be that.
HTH

Sirus
24th December, 2011, 07:14 PM
That's a Powermac G4 QuickSilver... Meaning Power PC cpu. you may be able to install Mac OS 10.5 leopard depending on the cpu speed. But best use 10.4 Tiger for speed. You cant install higher than OSX 10.5 because you need an Intel cpu.

The blinking icon is the mac not finding a bootable OS on startup. You could try resetting the PRAM, it is a small button on the logic board(looks like a small doorbell).. press and hold it for 10 seconds then try a boot again.... dont keep pressing it over and over again, it can mess things up if you do, only press it once every few minutes when using it.

It's also possible the mac may have 2 OS's installed, as some people install OS9 and OSX on them old macs, so maybe one has ~~~~ed up. So try holding option key(windows key) on keyboard at bootup to see if there's more than one OS... saying that, it's still prob best to just reinstall a new OS, Tiger is your best bet.