PDA

View Full Version : openbox or eaglebox?

bokkie
26th January, 2012, 12:09 PM
Hi all. I'm looking for a receiver but am on a budget. Need a receiver that is diseqc compatible, viaccess card compatible, must be hd and to be used for other things which can't be discussed on here.
The boxes i am thinking of are the openbox s9, s10 or s11. Which is best?
The other box i've seen is the eaglebox 800 or eaglebox hd mini.
Has anyone had and experience with any of these?
I am a total noob so would need a box that has support.
Any other recommendations in same sort of price bracket (?90) also welcome.
Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Thx all

Shady
26th January, 2012, 12:17 PM
best support for them boxes is on the openbox side.

Manic01
26th January, 2012, 01:04 PM
The eagle plays all media avi/mkv/H 264 etc.

bokkie
26th January, 2012, 01:41 PM
I'm only going to use it to watch telly so that wouldn't hassle me. Thx
Any other pros/cons?

setfiretorain
26th January, 2012, 08:19 PM
I'm not personally sure on the Eagle, My friend has one and says its top for HD TV Viewing, However I had a openbox for a week and put it in the loft, Bought a blade media.

However for the price its a superb box, Just not one for someone like me, But I think for someone who just wants to watch TV in HD, There perfect.

Regards

ramjet
26th January, 2012, 08:35 PM
the eaglebox will get better software over time , and the picture quality and build seems good and does the job. so good but could do better , and currently not as good as a blade

I havent seen or used an openbox but its obviously had longer to get established although there are clones about

I think I would get the eagle instead of the openbox , although a blade is a much better option at the moment

bokkie
26th January, 2012, 10:03 PM
Thx for the feedback guys.
Any particular reason you'd choose the Eaglebox ramjet?
Is there something it does or does better than the openbox?