PDA

View Full Version : Satellite newbie

RADCOMJ1
13th January, 2009, 02:30 AM
I'm new to the satellite world-cough cough, I have cable atm. I'm definitely getting a Pioneer KRP-500A Pioneer - KRP-500A - Full HD Kuro Plasma TV, includes FREE 5-year (http://www.tlcbroadcast.co.uk/full-kuro-plasma-includes-free-5year-warranty-p-373.html?ref=6)
I'm not sure how good the mediabox reciever that comes with it is but I think I'll need a bit more perhaps. I'm interested in a sat dish and an additional receiver but I haven't got a clue except for a brief course in Sats at Wood Norton and the copy of "What Satellite" I have in my hand. I am a computer wizard albeit Windows not Linux; I have many linux Gurus to help me should I stumble in scripting or that damnned command line they love so much lol :)
I'm highly interested in HD content and a box/set up that lends itself to some playful hacking would be appreciated. Not really a footie fan but Rugby is my bag.Thanks in advance for your help :)

westkill
13th January, 2009, 02:41 AM
have a look in the sat dreambox section for dm800 threads :)

RADCOMJ1
14th January, 2009, 12:09 AM
Thanks Westkill, It'a a toss up between the DM800 and TM-6900 HD combo. What sort of dish would I need to compliment these recievers....something that would sit on a 3 storey house. Is a motorised dish better than a staticone with a few LNB's or do they have multiple LNB's too? Sorry for the Newbieness but I guess we all have to start somewhere.

.: JaCkPoT :.
14th January, 2009, 12:47 AM
Feel welcome to ask as many questions as you want mate...
A motorised dish is the far better option if you are new but if you are experienced and know which sats your after then the multi lnb is out of question...