PDA

View Full Version : Box for a newbie

bokkie
17th February, 2012, 08:34 PM
Hi everyone.
I am totally new to this.
I am getting a motorised dish installed and want to tinker with the whole satellite scene.
I can't say exactly what I want to do, but you get the drift ;)
I am not going to use it excessively, just a bit of viewing and I'll be getting a viaccess card as well so would like it to be compatible.

I initially wanted an openbox, but heard they struggle with motorised systems, so I looked at the spiderbox.
Whilst looking into that I have found out that a dm800se can be had for about ?170. The same as a spiderbox 9000.
The dm800se doesn't have 1 thing that the spiderbox does, you know what I mean. But if it really is so much better, I'll sacrifice that.
I have heard that dm800 is very diifficult to get to grips with for a newbie like me.
I don't have a clue about emus and all the rest.
I don't really have time to learn how to use a box for a couple of days/weeks, so with this in mind should I go for a spiderbox or Blade7000s?
Can anyone advise me pls?
Thank you for your help

Shady
17th February, 2012, 08:39 PM
spiderbox comes with a 'gift' that you have no control over and can be stopped at anytime.. so much more can be done with a dm800 and they can be had for ?120 if you buy from china direct, can you read? then a dm is easy to set up, just follow advice from dk :)

bokkie
17th February, 2012, 08:50 PM
Thx for the quick reply.
I've just heard that they take a lot longer to master and the terminology is all a bit confusing.
I've heard of newbies getting a Blade 7000 or Spiderbox and being up and running in 20 minutes.
What about a dm800?
What more can it do and how can you view viaccess cards when it has no ci slot?

Shady
17th February, 2012, 08:52 PM