PDA

View Full Version : motorised dish help.

septicsmurf
20th March, 2012, 07:22 AM
Good morning everyone.
I had an 80 cm motorised dish and a vu+ duo installed a couple weeks ago, but haven't had time to test it out until last night.
I seem to get 13e, 19.2e and 9e with a good mid 80s signal.
When I tried 16e the signal bar on the channel that shows up when you press the ok button only showed 30%, same on 0.8w.
I also couldn't get anything on 39e which according to the dish size guide I only need a 60cm dish for.
I am a total newbie so not really sure of what I am doing.
Is it because the channels I tried are on not receivable here in the uk?
Are there any fta channels I should try on different sats to test the dish?
Can anyone help a newb out?
Thanks all.

firestorm
20th March, 2012, 07:35 AM
It sounds like your ark is out.If you imagine the dish has to follow the earth curve in order to pick up sats.your cure seems to be lower at one end east or west but sound to me like its low on the east side.16e can be one of the weeker sat to pick up you may be on a week transponder or your ark being out.Anthor though is your dish mounted 100% vertical?
The best FTA channel to set up your dish is bbc on 0.8w

septicsmurf
20th March, 2012, 08:38 AM
Thx firestorm. I'm not really sure if it's 100% vertical as i had it installed and can't really get to the dish.
So if i try bbc on 0.8w i should pick it up no problems if it's set up correctly?
Is there anything on the other end of the arc i could try? Maybe something on 39e and 16e?
What confuses me though, is that 9e is mid 80's, so is 19e. 16e is slap in between them and isn't picking anything up!

shankill2012
20th March, 2012, 08:59 AM
There is a list on the forum of the strongest transponders and the channels to use when searching for satellites , on 39 east - THE VOICE 12524 h 30000,

mdt
20th March, 2012, 09:01 AM