PDA

View Full Version : BDM vs. OBD read on various ECUs

chris_e36_328
21st July, 2012, 12:53 AM
Hi all, I know this is covered in bits here and there, but I would like to make a definitive post as to the real differences between an OBD and BDM read for purposes of performance tuning as well as disabling the DPF.

What started it was a heated debate I had today with owner of one of the garages I do some work for. The type who knows it all you know? The type who got himself a galletto 1260 and mpps, spoke to a few people on some forums, and now brags about how bad my work is. My background is in electronics so I do understand that there might be instances where a BDM is of more use than an OBD read, but as I don?t write files but use variety of tuners, my knowledge is pure theoretical here and does not take into consideration the real differences between various ECUs and real world tuning.

Today I had a pleasure to hear statements like: ?obd read is shit and the dpf cannot be switched off properly, it can only be bypassed, whereas bdm read allows the dpf system to be switched off properly? and ?yes, it is true to all cars?, and ?yes, all dpf removal jobs should be done by BDM?.
I do understand the concept, but claims like this are too bold I think. But when I say it is not true, I don?t really have experience to back my claim up either.

Now, apart from obvious benefits of a BDM read (full backup/recovery, immo/cloning, access to all software and data areas):

1. are there important areas that are not accessible by obd read that are crucial from either performance remapping or dpf delete perspective?
2. if it is applicable only to some ecus, could you state which ecu?s have to be bdm?ed to access useable data, and which ecus will allow for a ?half decent? job, but bdm will make for a nicer tune/more reliable dpf off. And also which ecus are absolutely fine done by obd.

For example: VAG 2.0 tdi 140 bosch, VAG 2.0 tdi 170 siemens, Vauxhall 1.9 cdti bosch