PDA

View Full Version : Noob help - R4-III Upgrade - Don't think it's working right :(

NeilF
14th February, 2009, 07:26 PM
I'm new to R4's.

The box has "R4-III Upgrade" on it. The card has the web address www.r4iiisdhc.com (http://www.r4iiisdhc.com/) on it.

I downloaded the 3.07 and 3.04 kernals on their website and both behave as follows:-
a) On starting up, instead of getting a GUI interface as I'd expect, I just get a list of roms (.NDS) files.
b) When selecting the moonshell NDS file, it appears to load - I'm not sure what I should get - but on the bottom window it mentions for a couple of seconds it has a problem finding the 'moonshl/' folder ('has it been renamed or deleted' it says in the warning text). However, I can navigate around and play mp3 etc...

I'm very confused because I was expecting at start up to see a GUI interface along these lines. Instead I just get a simple list of .NDS (rom) files:-
http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee292/r4dsking/untitled.jpg

And I'm also confused why I get the warning about the 'moonshl' folder? I've tried everything I can (downloading many different kernals, putting the moonshl folder in different places etc) but cannot make any progress.

I'm very confused :(

note: The two kernals (3.04 & 3.07) appear quite different. And also give very different background when running moonshell. 3.07 appears to have japanese language in it too?

Jaffa
14th February, 2009, 08:05 PM
1st of all...don;t worry about Moonshell error as its common on a lot of R4 cards and doesnt do any harm...it still works.