PDA

View Full Version : need help with satellites

ih8theory
6th November, 2012, 12:11 AM
i just took the step to free sat, and have installed a motorized 1M dish with a MEGASAT diavolo 0.1DB SINGLE LNB.
i have the latest channel list, and a good strong signal on Thor @0.8w, but i can't get any signal on other satellites.

Help is needed, and would be much appreciated as i'm a total newbie to satellite systems!

Nutsandbolts
6th November, 2012, 12:50 AM
Hi. Are you using USALS or 1.2 to move your dish???. How many channels are you getting on THOR?? Make sure you have correct TP's(frequencies) for the satellites otherwise you wont find anything.
Regards.

ih8theory
6th November, 2012, 03:19 PM
I'm using 1.2 and on a full search i have 630 channels.
i assume the TP list is correct as it upgraded together with
the satellite list.

mdt
6th November, 2012, 04:10 PM
I'm using 1.2 and on a full search i have 630 channels.
i assume the TP list is correct as it upgraded together with
the satellite list.

set your dish up to use usals and once you have thor@1w set up the other satellites should come in,regards mdt

ih8theory
6th November, 2012, 04:14 PM
can i just change to usals? or do i need to realign the dish?

Nutsandbolts
6th November, 2012, 05:56 PM
can i just change to usals? or do i need to realign the dish?

Hi. You cant just change from one to the other as they work in different ways ie USALS is the auto search and 1.2 is the manual and save search. Your best bet is to do the following:
a) Make a mark on the dish and motor so you can re-alignt it THOR.
b) Change receiver setting to USALS. Put in your LATITUDE and LONGITUDE figures ie for LONDON its 51.5N LATITUDE and 00.1W LONGITUDE or there abouts.
c) Send dish to the THOR satellite using the GOTO command in MOTOR menu.
d) When motor stops re-align dish to THOR using alignment marks in step a.