PDA

View Full Version : Vu+ Solo2 newbie

Dannat
24th December, 2012, 02:50 PM
Hi,

I currently have a standard $ky+ HD box and standard dish, I am looking at the Vu+Solo2 but have a couple of questions -

1. Can you set series link as I currently can?

2. Once setup is the Vu+Solo2 as wife friendly as my HD box? ie could she click on a program on the EPG and set it to record from there?

3. What are the benefits of switching from HD box to a Vu box.

Sorry if these are newbie questions, but I have only been looking at alternatives for the HD box for a day so I am really just starting out.

The Skybox F3 has been mentioned to me by a friend, but it doesnt look like a suitable replacement for my current setup EPG doesnt look good and a single tuner is a no go.

Thanks for any info you can give me.

Dan

terayon00
24th December, 2012, 03:48 PM
Hi Dan

Can I just give you my input. I am a newbie too, I have got a Dreambox 800HD Clone, until 6 months ago I had a HD box too.

The linux boxes take a bit of getting used to. The epg is difficult to get your head round when you first get it. There is a plugin called cooltv which gives you a good epg, but on the DM800 it is a bit slow to come up. I want to get a VU DUO 2 when it comes out which hopefully will speed up the epg.

I am only giving my opinion based on a DM800. My other advice would be to check a friend's out before you take the plung.

However now I am used to it I love it better than the HD box.

Hope that helps

dell_xps
24th December, 2012, 04:14 PM
Avoid the skybox F3 there ok if you want to just watch TV, pants for epg etc, get a Vu box, Vu Duo, Ultimo or the new Solo 2, if you install a Vix image it's very wife friendly, Solo 2 you would have to install BH image as Vix has not released an image for this as yet.
HTH
All other ? are yes by the way.

Dannat
25th December, 2012, 01:43 AM
Cheers guys.