PDA

View Full Version : SAGEM DBOX - help!

ds1210
26th May, 2008, 03:46 PM
Hi Guys,
I bought a sagem dbox2 from ebay over 1 year ago.
all i got was the box, remote, scart lead and power lead

i connected it up to my tv... its started working and we got all the channels..

1-2 months back all the channels were still there but no picture.. i went on the net as you do and see if i was the only one.. but everyones boxes went off.

since then i am not good with these things.. i just took it off and left it..

i have just decided to give it a go.. see if i can do it..

when i switch on the box on the LCD it says:

comes up with lots of letters and numbers.

then

StarTrek
Loading Kernal

then
Neutrino NG
Phenix One (is this a channel name?)

i don't have any cds or anything can anyone help?
would need step by step and screen shots...

i am very bad at these things! i can't believe i am trying this... i have read loads of posts.. images? etc don't make any sense...

anyone got any time for a complete 1st timer.. ??? would appreciate it... sick of the boring analogue tv!

Regards
Adam

Devilfish
26th May, 2008, 04:33 PM
Sounds like you need new auto update files. The cable company sends out keys along with all the channels, you need these keys to view the premium channels. A program runs on the box to grab the keys from the stream and it uses them to show you the channels. The method of grabbing the keys changed on 8th April so you will need new files to make it work again.

You will need to connect your dbox to your PC in order to transfer the files to the box. You will need a crossover ethernet cable (?3 from ebay) to connect the dbox to your PC.

You will get the files you require here...

http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=1496

And there's a guide for connecting the dbox to your PC here...

http://www.dreamboxtips.com/how-to-connect-your-dreambox-to-your-pc/

It's for a dreambox but it's exactly the same for a dbox2.

Good Luck

ds1210