PDA

View Full Version : IP settings

celticrobbo
8th June, 2008, 02:15 PM
Hello all,

Been given a dbox2 from a friend to take a look at as it keeps locking up.

I was going to stick a new image on it but tried to ftp into it but having no luck.

Tried crossover and also through my router.

I am able to change the IP/gateway etc on the box but it seems it doesnt take the setting properly as if i press to show active settings it still has its original IP, but exit that and go back to IP it is the one i set

Im new to these boxes as i generally use the eurovox ones, anyone offer any guidance as to where i might be going wrong?

Incidentaly, any easy way to tell if the box is 1x or 2x, if it helps at all it is a Sagem one.

Any help most appreciated.

aftermath
8th June, 2008, 02:19 PM
make sure ip is 1 above the one of you pc
example pc = 192.168.1.5
box = 192.168.1.6

celticrobbo
8th June, 2008, 02:22 PM
yeah i know about that, im really just querying the fact it doesnt appear to take the settings im changing which i think might be causing the issue.

I do see a guide for using a null modem cable so might give that a go

aftermath
8th June, 2008, 02:24 PM
Untick the dhcp box, then save settings after you change IP address and allow network.

celticrobbo
8th June, 2008, 02:26 PM
will take another look!

any advice on the whole 1x 2x thing for the box? i believe this refers to chips? any easy way to check without hunting for my screwdriver?

aftermath
8th June, 2008, 02:35 PM
Hello all,

Been given a dbox2 from a friend .

Incidentaly, any easy way to tell if the box is 1x or 2x, .

2x for a dbox2

johnlogie
8th June, 2008, 05:31 PM
Take the top off and look inside. I flashed a 1x box with a 2x image and it was a pain in the ass to fix. Dont take the chance.

Derekwd
8th June, 2008, 08:40 PM
It is possible to see with a torch through the slots in the top, get hold of pt1s help file if you can as it tells you everything you need in there.

Derek

plasterer