PDA

View Full Version : New to ECU remapping 520d 2007 m47 engine

henal
31st March, 2016, 01:21 PM
Hi Guys/ Girls,

im new in this forum and new to ECU remapping, its some thing that i have not yet got my hands round to it,

by all means im not a novice, iv been in to electronics for donkey years,

ideally a straight answer would be a chosen method but i know there are many variables.

im planning on buying a kess v2 master clone on ebay,

my project car is a bmw e60 2007 520d with an m47 engine.

to my understanding the ECU i have is EDC16 c35. according to kess list.

im located in west london and coventry

im here to lean, and im sure i can contribute when time comes,

if some one can share their experience of what tools/ software's and what to do.

now what i want to know do i program with obd or removing the ecu.

spychu14
31st March, 2016, 01:28 PM
From my experience everything should be OK by OBD with this ECU. I always use Galletto for BMW. And remember that you need good power supply for e60 - 40Amps min.
Or stay safe and use BDM port first :)

henal
31st March, 2016, 01:45 PM
ok,

power supply is not a problem, can use multiple batteries with 80 boost charger.

BDM is possible, but iv never removed an ECU are their Sealed units (would like to at some stage more of a electronics person)

when you say galletto shall i buy this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Latest-Version-V54-FGTech-Galletto-4-Master-BDM-OBD-Function-Unlock-Version-/291446113488?hash=item43db8ac4d0:g:0c0AAOSwlV9WQ-7s

what do you recommend ?

spychu14
31st March, 2016, 02:01 PM
You have to read this topic :
http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums/showthread.php/411050-Chineese-Galletto-V54

henal
31st March, 2016, 06:08 PM
so which one is better kess or Galletto, also

what will the best first initial tool to use, since im trying to lean and then as i get better my requirements will fund better tools.

hcwc
31st March, 2016, 11:01 PM