PDA

View Full Version : Updating Dreambox 7020S

ozzienl
22nd July, 2008, 10:13 PM
I am new to Dreambox and have recently bought a 7020S. This was delivered with a very old Hydra Phoenix image (2005?) and is currently working OK with 4 LNBs and a Wavefrontier T55 dish. However, EMUs and keys not operational.

I would like to upgrade to a newer image but do not want to lose the configuration especially the satellite setup which the seller did for me and took quite a while. Unfortunately he is not around and I do not fully understand the steps taken.
So I need your help to make sure I do not mess things up.

1. How should I save the current satellite (and other important) settings for setup with a new image?
2. Can I install a new image on USB or CompactFlash and try that out before erasing the old Hydra image? Read somewhere about problems with multiboot on 7020s
3. Which image would you recommend for newbies? Should be very easy to set up and use especially EMUs and keys (Step-by-step tutorials for newbies would be great)

Thanks

firestorm
23rd July, 2008, 02:10 AM
hi the best thing to do is to get a program called flashwizard and to buy your self a usb stick say a 2gig ,plug in the usb stick in the back of your 7020 then open flashwizard goto config and utilties enter your dreambox ip addres then format your usb,then you will see an option to back up services and favorties,now download a new image from the net ie nablio and remeber were you saved it.then click on install or remove firmware in multiboot option chose the usb option and instal you new image on to the usb stick,when finished reboot your dreambox and it will give you the option to boot either your old image or the new one you have installed pick the new one and your setting should be in it.this method will leave your old image and setting intack if you get stuck get back and i will help you

ozzienl
23rd July, 2008, 10:25 AM