PDA

View Full Version : new to dbox need help pls

cablefreejunkie
26th July, 2008, 11:07 AM
hi,i have a dbox2 given to me from a friend,i havent got a clue what i have done to this box as it was working before,i have plugged it into my router,i have messed around with settings etc etc but cannot get it to work,i think i need to start from the beginning and get all the correct settings etc etc,trouble is i dont know what they are,it will scan but wont find any channels,could some kind soul pls help a total newbie out ????? thankyou

Devilfish
26th July, 2008, 11:14 AM
Welcome to the forum. :)

You say the box worked prior to you receiving it?

Are you in the same area that the box came from?

Is there a channel listing on the box?

Do free channel work, i.e. BBC1, CH4, etc.?

Try going to sky sports 1, press DBOX > Reboot

cablefreejunkie
26th July, 2008, 11:17 AM
hi,thanks for the speedy response,yes we are in the same area,there was a channel list but i got the error no channel available message,i then started messing around with settings in the scan menu and various other settings,now i have no channel list and nothing seems to be happening when i scan

Devilfish
26th July, 2008, 11:31 AM
Your signal may be too low. That would explain why the existing channels didn't work and why you're not getting any channels from a scan.

Can you press RED > BLUE and see what the SNR reading is? Not sure if you can do this without any channels, it's been a while since I had to do anything with my dbox2.

cablefreejunkie
26th July, 2008, 06:13 PM
i have done this and the snr reading is 61920 the sig reading is 62752

<--cablefreejunkie added 33 Minutes and 40 Seconds later...-->

i have just tried to do a scan and now it wont let me do a scan,im totally pi--ed off with this box !!!!!!!!!!!

<--cablefreejunkie added 302 Minutes and 5 Seconds later...-->