PDA

View Full Version : Water damaged MEV17

Fallen
5th February, 2017, 12:37 PM
Hi guys,

Does anybody have a full BDM read for this ECU?
It's out of a 120i E87 with a manual transmission.

The existing ECU is severely water damaged and will not power up on the bench or in the car.

Label attached.

Thanks

mislav88
5th February, 2017, 12:55 PM
try to power up tricore with external 3.3v and then read it in boot

Fallen
5th February, 2017, 12:59 PM
I have never tried to do that before, I did not even know it was possible.
Can you send me the power up points please?

schumy1502
5th February, 2017, 01:30 PM
Galleto 2 have pinout for this ecu

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mislav88
5th February, 2017, 07:52 PM
look for 100nf block capacitors near tricore, you can easily see which side is positive and which is gnd. post photo of tricore and surrounding components if you cant fint it

Fallen
5th February, 2017, 10:55 PM
Thanks mate, if you could mark this photo it would be great.

426401 426402

mislav88
5th February, 2017, 11:26 PM
First of all, check with your scope, or at least voltages with multimeter if you dont have it:

Power up ecu with standard connection
Marked red is main 3.3V rail feeding tricore
Marked green should be 100nf block capacitors i was talking about

And your big problem is marked yellow, crystal oscillator doesnt look good, like it is missing its top, it should be 16 or 20mhz for tc1796, try to find used ecu and check it, or at least picture of it. If you have an oscilloscope you can easily check if it is alive.
Without working oscillator forget about reading this mcu in any way, even in boot. Maybe this is the only reason car is dead.

Fallen
6th February, 2017, 10:00 AM
First of all, check with your scope, or at least voltages with multimeter if you dont have it:

Power up ecu with standard connection
Marked red is main 3.3V rail feeding tricore
Marked green should be 100nf block capacitors i was talking about