PDA

View Full Version : Help needed with secure romote pc access over the internet

Dreamer
7th August, 2008, 03:19 PM
I am trying to find a way of remote accessing to friends computer and also the mother-in-laws, so that I can help them out as they are complete newbies to computing.
I found a program called ultraVNC which is open source.
I'm not keen on using logmein or other ones you do via a a webpage. I want to connect directly and securely over the internet. I know there is a remote desktop facility in win xp pro bit this is for comps on a LAN.
I also know there is a prog called PC Anywhere but I can?t afford that and want to keep it all above board.
Has anyone got any experience of using ultraVNC? Specifically I want to know how to securely connect I read somewhere about these progs being dangerous due to leaving ports open. I know you have to use a password to gain access to the other person?s machine when you use ultraVNC. Is this enough to keep it secure?
Please keep any replies as jargon free as possible.

Devilfish
7th August, 2008, 03:50 PM
We use a program called VNC in work and it works fine, I suppose the Ultra version will be just as good.

I used to use a program called NetSupport for controlling my laptop from my desktop and vice versa, not sure if it will work over the internet, you connected using the ip address, sent you a PM anyway. ;)

What about Windows Remote Desktop? Or MSN?

Dreamer
7th August, 2008, 04:12 PM
:beer:Thanks for the information.

When I read up on the windows remote access it said both computers had to be on a LAN.
I looked up netsupport and it says it works over the inernet so that might be just the think I am looking for.
I'm just a bit concerned about using the UltraVNC or VNC as I read that it leaves your ports open to attack. I'm not sure if this is true or not.

Thanks again I'm off to do some reading!

mrtell
7th August, 2008, 07:46 PM
I would recommend dameware nt for remote access.